answersLogoWhite
Kentucky
Basketball Rules and Regulations
Mumbai

If you offensive rebound in the post can you take two steps and layup without dribbling?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 19:40:42
2015-07-15 19:40:42

The easy answer is no. Once an offensive player gets a rebound, which usually means obtaining possession by coming down on two feet, they cannot take two steps and attempt another shot or pass. For more information the NBA rule book available at nba.com gives good detail in Section XIV-Traveling.

Related Questions

User Avatar

Well here are just a few - if a player fouls 5 times, they are taken out of the game - if you have the ball, you must dribble it when you are moving - you cannot stay in the key for more than 3 seconds - once you stop dribbling the ball, you have 5 seconds to pass it or shot it - you are allowed 2 steps without dribbling to jump up to shoot a layup (some referees allow 3 steps) Hope This helps!

User Avatar

It's called a driving layup, nothing else.

User Avatar

A layup is when you are very close to the basket when you shoot the ball. I would say a player would be 3 feet or less from the basket when they shot a layup.

User Avatar

keep a stady pace as you head to the basket dribbling the ball,stop dribbling in enough time to take 1 to 1 1/2 steps to jump in the air as high as you can laying the ball gently off the glass backboard.You want to try to hit the top corner of the square at a angle that will let the ball drop thru the hoop.GO GET EM KID


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.