Softball

In softball if an easy foul ball is dropped does the fielder get an error?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2010-05-08 01:13:34
2010-05-08 01:13:34

Errors are only charged when a ball is in fair play.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


No. The runner would be called for interference if, for some reason, he ran into the fielder.


Only when caught by a fielder, excluding softball.


If it is the fielder that overthrows the ball it is an error on the fielder. If the pitcher overthrows the ball while pitching it is a wild pitch.


A ground out is when the hitter hits a ground ball to a fielder and they throw her out at first base.


yes the error would go to the person closest to the ball, if any error would be "awarded"


Without actually hitting the ball: 1. Walk 2. Intentional walk 3. Balk 4. Third strike, dropped ball 5. Hit by pitch 6. Pinch-runner 7. Base runner on first base at time game is delayed is traded before play resumes; baserunner is subbed in when game resumes 8. Failure to pitch within 20 seconds 9. Four illegal pitches 10. Fielder obstruction* 11. Error* Hitting the ball, but not having it scored as a hit: 1. Catcher interference 2. Fielder interference 3. Fan interference 4. Fan obstruction 5. Fielder obstruction* 6. Fielder's choice 7. Baserunner called out on appeal 8. Error* 9. Fair ball hits ump 10. Fair ball hits baserunner Hitting the ball; scored as a hit: 1. Single 2. Dropped sacrifice fly (different than error--dropped sac fly is intentional) 3. Sacrifice bunt fails to advance baserunner 4. Preceding baserunner put out *Batter can reach first base after dropped 3rd strike on error (catcher overthrows first base) or if obstructed by a fielder (pitcher gets in the way of the baserunner). Batter can also reach first base after hitting the ball if fielder commits error (fielder overthrows first base) or if obstructed by a fielder (pitcher gets in the way of the baserunner).


If it was a ball that he should have been able to make a play on, then it is called an error.


no when you are diving and that stuff is a hit if they drop it


If less than 2 outs the batter would be out because 1st base is occupied. If 2 outs then the batter and runners can advance. The catcher or fielder must make the out by retrieving the dropped ball at which point they can tag home, tag the batter or throw the ball to first to make the put out.


The definition of an error in baseball would be when a fielder misplays a ball that allows a batter or base runner to advance one or more additional bases when a regular or ordinary play would have prevented the advancement. An error can be when a fielder drops a fly ball, makes a poor throw, or isn't able to field an easy ground ball.


A reached on error means that the runner was safe because a defensive fielder messed up. This can be from an outfielder dropping a routine play or from a infielder fumbling the ball or overthrowing first base. Reached on error is counted as an at-bat, but it is not factored into the batting average.


if a ball is hit to the any fielder and it hits any part of his body and he misses. if aresult of that is the base runner is safe. that is a error


There are nine players out on the field at one time. Although the pitcher and catcher have the ball the most each person has a specific job. In the infield there is the pitcher, catcher, first base, second base, shortstop, and third base. In the outfield there is left fielder, center fielder, and right fielder. In slow pitch softball there is an extra fielder, who is specified as a rover. Normally, the defensive team will play with four outfielders, meaning there is a left fielder, left-center fielder, right-center fielder, and right fielder.


No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.


Probably not...but, it really depends on the Official Scorers decision. Was the fielder bobbling the ball when he ran into the wall? Did crashing into the wall actually cause the fielder to drop the ball? Before a scorer can make such a call, he must witness the event...this is true on almost all scoring decisions.


Reached on error - basically means that the runner got on base due to a fielding error and not by a safely hit ball.


when the ball is hit to the left fielder or goes into center field on the shortstops side of second base


No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.


If the ball gets passed the fielder then its scored as a hit . If the fielder gets hit or hits the ball the scoring tends to be a hit but it can be called an error ... The scoring in a Baseball game is up to the home Field score keeper ...


Yes. A dropped foul ball can be considered an error if the official scorer deems that the player should have caught the ball. The batter will not reach base in this case. However, if the batter subsequently scores a run, the run will be unearned. Notably, an error on a dropped foul ball would not disrupt a pitcher's attempt to record a perfect game.


A softball weighs more. A tennis ball is smaller that a softball and is hollow. A softball is larger and it is not hollow, making the softball heavier than the tennis ball.


It's a play where in the fielder throws the ball to 1st base to get the batter-runner out. This play is always done when there are no runners on base.


on a batted ball the fielder has the right of way if the fielder is in the basepath and the ball isn't near him the runner has the right of way


Usually the batter is not out, but if the fielder drops the ball in the act of throwing it to an infielder the batter is out. So your question's answer is no he is not out.


If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.