Baseball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Is a passed ball that allows a runner at third base to score considered an error?

141516

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2007-08-06 18:42:55
2007-08-06 18:42:55

It is an error, charged to the catcher as a passed ball, however, it does not show up in the stats as an error.

001
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


No - a passed ball is credited to the catcher's statistics and to the team's passed balls statistics.Not only is a passed ball not a team error, it is not considered an error at all. Passed balls and wild pitches are given their own statistical categories with no error charged on either type of play.


If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


No...a fielding error that allows the runner to get on base and that runner scores is not an earned run and does not count against earned run average.



A passed ball is not recorded as an error.


if there is two outs and the error would have meant the third out, then no earned runs will be charged. In all other cases, any runner who reached base on an error will not be considered an earned run ( the batter will be an earned run if the error was not supposed to be the third out.) Any runner who reaches base on a hit or walk but advances a base because of an error will still be considered an earned run when the homerun is hit (including runners who already scored on errors)


A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.


This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit


Depends on what happened in the inning prior to and after the batter is hit. Assuming that no errors or passed balls occur, the run will be scored an earned run. If the inning is extended by an error, or the runner scores because of an error or passed ball, the run would be unearned.


The rules for pitchers and catchers are a little different than for the other players because they are involved in every pitch of the game. A passed ball is considered as a separate statistic and, therefore, is not considered an error. This is similar to a pitcher who throws a wild pitch. The wild pitch is not considered an error because there is a separate statistic to account for wild pitches.


yes...unless that runner reached base on an error or the inning should have been over earlier due to an error


Because there are situations when a run is scored and no one gets credit for an RBI. Some examples are: 1) Runner scores on a wild pitch, passed ball, or balk. 2) Runner scores on a double play. 3) Runner scores because of an defensive error.



Yes because of his errant throw the runner was allowed to move up ,at least, one base


Earned. Unearned runs only apply to cases where an error allows a runner to score where they otherwise would not have.


It is not passed on from parent to child. It is an error in meiosis.


Yes, as long as the runner got on base cleanly (ie: not on an error)


Yes, it does. In order to be a perfect game, no opposing player can reach first base safely. It doesn't matter if it was by way of an error or a passed ball, the runner cannot reach first. Bottom line, 27 batters get up and all 27 batters must be retired. No exceptions.


A wild pitch is considered part of pitching, and therefore a wild pitch contributing to a run does not make that run unearned. Had the runner advanced on a passed ball, or on an error on the pitcher, the run would be unearned, assuming that the run would not have scored anyway had the inning played out the way it did (this sometimes involves a judgment call by the official scorer). For example, if the runner reached second on a passed ball, scored on a single, and there were no further hits in the inning, the run would be unearned. However if after reaching second on the passed ball there were a pair of singles, or an extra base hit, the run probably would be scored as an earned run.


If the scorer believes that the runner would have been safe either way no error is awarded if the runner does not advance further. If the runner would have been out then the scorer gives the error to either the fielder or the catcher depending on the throw.


No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.


The definition of an error in baseball would be when a fielder misplays a ball that allows a batter or base runner to advance one or more additional bases when a regular or ordinary play would have prevented the advancement. An error can be when a fielder drops a fly ball, makes a poor throw, or isn't able to field an easy ground ball.


No, if there is a runner on first and the second baseman fields the ball and throws it to the shortstop, who muffs the play and allows both the runner and batter to advance/reach safely, the play would be ruled a fielder's choice and an error. It would still count as an at-bat and a non-hit for the batter, just as if the second-baseman had muffed the throw to the first-baseman with nobody on base.


Runs are recorded as "earned" if the runner scoring does not reach base as the result of an error, and if the runner scores on a play other than an error. Also, the run would be "unearned" if scored after an error was made that would have otherwise ended the inning.For example:1) Runner reaches base on an error. If that runner scores, no matter how, the run would be unearned.2) Runner reaches base by some way other than an error (hit, walk, fielder's choice, etc.), and winds up on 3B. The next batter hits a ball to the shortstop, who makes an error, and the runner on 3B scores. The run would be unearned.3) Runner reaches base by some way other than an error. Next batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out, but the runner on 1B advances to 2B. Next batter hits a ground ball, but an error is made, and the runner on 2B advances to 3B (that would have been the second Out except for the error). The next batter hits a fly ball to deep right field. The right fielder catches the ball, batter out, but the runner on 3B tags up and scores on the play. The run would be unearned, because had the previous error not been committed, the caught fly ball would have been the third Out, and the runner would not have scored from 3B.Many times the official scorekeeper has to wait until the inning is over to determine if the runs scored were earned or unearned.For a more complete explanation of what's an earned run and what's not, go to the official rules on the Major League Baseball website, http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp, Section 10.00, Rule 10.16.----------



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.