What happens when the ball hits the umpire in baseball?
depends where the ump is if he is in the field actually on it you continue playing if not on field foul ball.
you play it as a live ball Read More
In professional baseball, anytime a ball strikes something foreign with significant speed, an umpire must examine it for blemishes, cuts, etc. before putting back into play. Thus, when a pitched ball hits the ground, the umpire will examine it before putting it back into play. The catchers know this and thus do it automatically. If there are baserunners, the umpire will call time before accepting the ball. Read More
It depends. If the ball hits the umpire in the mask and stuns him. He will most likely call a dead ball or time. If he doesn't thoug. It is a live ball and still in play. Read More
if the umpire is inside the base path, then it is a dead ball... no pitch --- if the umpire is outside the base paths then it is a live ball Read More
fairball Read More
If it hits the umpire behind home plate, it is a foul ball. If it hits a field umpire who is in bounds, then it is a live ball, meaning that the batter might be thrown out at first, or he might reach first base safely (and then this would be scored as a hit without an error), Read More
According to MLB rules, that would depend on the situation. MLB Rule 5.09(f) states that the ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when "A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a… Read More
If a batted popup hits an umpire in unfair territory and the catcher makes the catch off the umpire and before the ball hits the ground is the batter out?
yes Read More
In Major League Baseball, according to Rule 6.08 (d,) the ball is in play as long as it's in fair territory and it touches a field umpire after it goes by any of the other Infielders except for the Pitcher that was currently on the mound. Read More
Why does the ball get handed to the umpire when it hits the dirt at homebase and not when the ball gets hit and hits the dirt in the infield?
The ball gets handed to the umpire once it hits the dirt and not in the instance of the baseball hitting the dirt in the field is up to the Home Plate Umpire's discretion however Pitchers have the rights to request a new baseball provided it becomes too dirty to get a grip on. Pitchers will like the dirt on the ball because it will be able to move more however the opposing team and… Read More
nope. i wish! Read More
no it is considered a dead ball Read More
In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored. Read More
When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference. Read More
It's a strike and you are not awarded first. Read More
Yes its a foul ball but keep on running to the next base until the umpire calls it a foul ball!!!! Read More
No. If the ball if the ball hits the bat and then goes onto the pad then the batsman cannot be out LBW. The umpire has to spot this of course. Read More
When an outfielder attempts to throw out a runner off a basehit and his throw hits the base umpire is the ball dead?
Ball is still in play Read More
What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?
According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone. Read More
When the catcher catches a foul ball behind the plate is the batter out or does it matter what the count is?
If a batter swings, and the ball becomes a fly ball, and that ball is caught by ANY fielder (including the catcher) before it hits the ground; the batter is out no matter what the count happens to be or whether the ball is fair or foul. MLB Rule 2.0 states that "A FLY BALL is a batted ball that goes high in the air in flight." No specific rule exists on what "high in… Read More
No...unless it is determined by the umpire that the runner purposely interferred with the throw, the runner my be called out for interferrence. Read More
All things being equal, the bat, the ball, the force used etc., the same thing that happens when a boy hits a ball with a bat. Read More
Both of them are out Read More
Yes. Ball is dead. Batter is awarded 1st and all runners advance 1 base. Rule 5.09 (f) Read More
Umpire calls a ball batted into dirt at home afoul ball ball spins back into fair play without being touched fair or foul?
The ball is foul. Once a ball hits the dirt in foul territory before it gets past first or third base, it is a foul ball. It does not matter what happens after that. If a ball hits fair, foul, fair, it is foul. If it bounces foul and then into fair territory, it is foul. If the ball hits fair passed first or third and then bounces foul, it is fair. Those are the… Read More
What happens is the ball deforms which then flattens then returns to its normal shape which then makes it bounce. As for what happens rules-wise when the ball hits the ground, not a lot. The ball is on the ground for a fair portion of the game, which can lead to heavy contact when players vie for control of the ball. Read More
Why does the umpire throw in a new ball after the pitcher throws one that hits the dirt but not after a batter hits the ball which they throw back to the pitcher?
You only see this is upper levels of baseball due to the talent and skill level of the pitchers, and to maintain nobody has a competitive advantage. If a ball has a scuff or a torn seam at the MLB level pitchers can use this to get more action or movement on their pitches. This is why you see several balls removed from play in MLB games. If the umpire determines nothing is wrong wth… Read More
Nothing, the ball is still in, unless the ball hits the antenna. If the ball hits the antenna at any point. The ball is called out. Read More
If a volleyball hits the line in volleyball, the ball is considered to be in (any part of the ball). Read More
MLB Rule 5.08 states: "If a thrown ball accidently touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out." MLB Rule 5.09(g) states: " A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base; If a foul tip hits the umpire… Read More
The ball is out of play if it hits the antenna. The team that hit the ball into the antenna loses the point. Read More
If the ball hits any part of the line, it is a fair ball, and is not called. The umpire is supposed to stay silent. If the ball lands outside of the line in foul territory, the umpire puts their hands about their head ans says foul. If a ball bounces in fair territory, but leaves fair territory before is passes a base, it is a foul ball. If the ball bounce in fair territory… Read More
The hitter... Read More
Is it possible Hit a ball in the air and already be called out before the ball hits the ground whether or not the ball is caught?
Yes, if you hit it high enough in the infield it is called the infield fly rule, the umpire calls you automatically out no matter what Read More
Is there a way the batter can reach first safely when the infield fly rule is in effect and the batter hits an infield fly?
No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule… Read More
When a pitcher throws the ball in the dirt the umpire takes it out of the game. If the batter hits a ground ball why is it also not taken out?
A pitch which hits the dirt often becomes discolored or has scuff marks on it due to the nature of the soil material around home plate. This happens at a fairly high rate of speed A batted ball in the infield usually hits grass first and at an angle that these scuff marks do not occur. A ball that is chopped and hits the HP circle is taken out of play. This is more so… Read More
If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play… Read More
If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running… Read More
A balk is called before the pitch -- therefor anytime a balk is called it is a no pitch. I guess if there is a situation where the umpires allow the pitcher to finish a pitch, yet still call a balk and the batter hits the ball then nothing would happen -- this would be similar to a pitch thrown when umpire grants timeout before hand. When the balk is called the runners will advance… Read More
MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear: If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out. Read More
depends where it hits them, in the leg, who cares, in the head, your in trouble :) Read More
If the ball hits any part of your person, in the course of a swing, it is considered a strike. If it hits the bat after hitting your hand, it is a foul ball. Read More
If the ball happens to hit the line right on then it is in Read More
Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?
If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead. Read More
One stroke penalty and you must play the ball as it lies. Read More