answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Baseball History
Major League Baseball (MLB)

What is the record for number of foul balls hit during one at bat?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2014-04-24 16:02:44
2014-04-24 16:02:44

According to Mike Attiyeh, 15. Pitcher: Bob Feller. Batter: Luke Appling (White Sox). Year: 1940.

"Foul ball records are not kept, but baseball author Bill James once wrote that Roy Thomas, who played in the National League from 1899 to 1911, fouled off 22 pitches in one at-bat.

Hall of Famer Luke Appling reputedly hit 17 fouls while waiting for a pitch he liked. Appling, Chicago White Sox shortstop who won the 1936 AL batting championship with a .388 average, was a master at deliberately fouling off pitches.

Another legend is that Appling once hit 14 foul balls into the stands to get even with a team owner who would not give him two extra gamepasses for friends."

Jack Dittmer, a back-up second baseman for the Milwaukee Braves in the mid 1950's, fouled off approximately 22 pitches in a game broadcast by WTMJ radio in Milwaukee. Earl Gillespie and Blaine Walsh were the broadcasters. Perhaps the station has tapes of their old broadcasts which could verify the exact number.

Related Questions

User Avatar

There is no limit on the number of foul balls.

User Avatar

in 1946 Sam Hernandaze hit a total of 25 foul balls in one at bat

User Avatar

There is no limit to the number of fouls in the MLB.The only rules about foul balls is if a batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball is bunted foul, the batter is called out. But there is no limit to the number of foul balls a batter can hit when swinging at the pitch.This is true. However, the first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.

User Avatar

The first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.

User Avatar

Yes the first two foul balls are strikes unless there aree two strikes. A batter can not strike out on foul balls.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.