Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter?

888990

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2014-04-24 16:52:05
2014-04-24 16:52:05

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below:

" He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.

APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.

User Avatar

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.

User Avatar

if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference

User Avatar

Depending on the sport, the batter cannot be caught out, the ball remains in play, the ball must be hit before touching the ground again or the ball remains in play until it stops of its own accord.

User Avatar

There is no difference from one that does not bounce.

User Avatar

The pitch is ruled a strike and the batter is not awarded first base.

User Avatar

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "

User Avatar

yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped

User Avatar

The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.

User Avatar

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.

User Avatar

A batter being out for throwing his bat is not a baseball rule -- this is just a rule that leagues put into their own rules for safety and you would have to refer to your league on that ruling. If we are talking MLB -- there is no rule for a batter being called out if he throws his bat

User Avatar

If the batter intentionally or accidently kicks the ball, he is considered out. Any contact after a batted ball by the batter is an out. See the rules, 6 (batter), and 7 (runner) in the link below. Keep in mind that the offensive players on the field are the batter and runners. If the ball makes incidental contact with an offensive player (as opposed to intentional on the part of a defensive player) before the ball contacts a defensive player, the offensive player is out. One exception to this is when a ball contacts a batter in the batter's box, provided the batter is not swinging on a third strike, in which case he is out. Ball contact with the batter mean he takes first, with the one exception of course.

User Avatar

On a ground rule double, the batter is awarded second base and all runners advance two bases. The ball is dead.

User Avatar

Back about 8 yrs ago when I was an ASA umpire, the ruling was that the ball was dead if it hit the plate.

User Avatar

Ruling directly before her was William IV, her uncle.

User Avatar

find king because of his confidenceWhat did William and Mary have to do before .

User Avatar

I believe the correct ruling is that the batter would be awarded 2B. On ball 4, he is entitled to 1B without liability of being put, though the ball is still live. Once the pitched ball enters the dugout (dead ball territory), all runners would be awarded one base from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. So in this particular scenario, even though the batter had not actually reached 1B at the time the pitched ball entered the dead ball territory, I believe he would be awarded 2B.Follow-up:I've researched this further, and found my above answer is wrong. If ball 4 goes directly into the dugout, the batter gets 1B only and all runner's on base get one base from the base where they were at the time of the pitch. However, if the pitch gets past the catcher, touches a defensive player, and then goes into the dugout, the batter only get 1B, but all other runners get two bases.

User Avatar

A legally batted fair ball in which the batter safely reaches 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or Home Base without an error being commited by the defense or an out being awarded as the result of a "Fielder's Choice". A batter may be awarded a "hit" by the official score keeper and then advance to other bases on an errors commited by the defense. Example: Batter hits ball to leftfield and the leftfielder lets the ball go between his legs and the batter/runner advances to 2nd base. The ruling by the officail scorer is a "single" hit then the batter advances on the error.

User Avatar

If a runner runs into a fielder making a play on a batted ball, it is interference, and the runner is out; the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners return to their last legally occupied base at the time of the pitch, unless forced by the batter. If in the umpire's judgment the interference is flagrant, the batter may also be called out.

User Avatar

It's unclear what the MLB rule book says on the matter. While it's clear that both a batter and a pitcher are allowed to change sides once, the umpire's decision that the batter must declare first remains debatable. We're waiting on an official ruling on it

User Avatar

The Taliban was ruling Afghanistan for the majority of the 1990's and into early 2001. The ruling group before the Taliban was the Sikh's.

User Avatar

It's still a dead ball (batter takes his base). Recommendme and message me if this was useful A hit by pitch can also be called on a pitch that has touched the ground. Such a bouncing pitch is like any other, and if a batter is hit by such a pitch, he will be awarded first unless he made no attempt to avoid it. A batter hit by a pitch is not credited with a hit or at bat, but is credited with a time on base and a plate appearance; therefore, being hit by a pitch does not increase or decrease a player's batting average but does increase his on-base percentage. A batter hit by a pitch with the bases loaded is also credited with an RBI per MLB rule 10.04(a)(2). [5] A pitch ruled a hit by pitch is recorded as a ball in the pitcher's pitch count, since by definition the ball must be outside the strike zone and not have been swung at. The batter doesnt get to take his/her base. It happened last year to a girl on my softball team. When it hits the ground it is a dead ball.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.