By noting E-x (x being the player who commited the error) and then drawing the line to the base the player advanced. An example would be E-6 (an error on the SS), or in the case of a dropped throw, 6-E3, SS throws the first, but first baseman dropped the throw that would have resulted in the putout.
Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.
The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.
Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.
None of the runs are earned. The batter who would have been the third out of the inning reached on an error, so any runs that score in that inning after the error was made are unearned.
Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)
A batter that reaches base due to an error and later scores is not counted as an earned run.
When a batter reaches on an error, an at bat is charged (since there would have been a put out had the error not occurred), so it will cause a decrease in batting average
If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. In this case the interference is disregarded and normal scoring applies. If the manager elects to take the interference penalty, it is scored as an error charged to the catcher. If the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference and normal scoring applies.
Yes. If a fielder drops a foul ball, that is counted as an error, even though the batter does not advance to first. MLB Rule 10.12 (a) (2) is pretty clear: The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder: .. (2) when such fielder muffs a foul fly to prolong the time at bat of a batter, whether the batter subsequently reaches first base or is put out;
No anybody that's on because of an error is an unearned run no matter how they score
If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.
If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.
yes if a run crosses at all it is a RBI for someone This is not always true. For instance, no RBI is awarded if the batter hits into a double play, even though a run crosses.
No. It can still be a no hitter. But a perfect game requires the pitcher to retire every batter he or she faces. A perfect game is broken whenever any batter reaches base, including by hit, walk, or error.
If the batter is outside of the box when contact is made, the batter is out.
No, when a player reaches base on an error the batter is not credited with a hit. He is credited with an at bat, so as far his statistics are concerned, it is as though he made an out.
yes, for example with a runner on 3rd with less than 2 out, if he hits a ball deep enough to be a sacrifice fly but the outfielder drops it, the batter will get an RBI because he would have got one without the error
The batter would be charged with a strikeout and an at-bat.
A score is immediately posted in the following situations:If the batter hits the ball or is bowled a no ball and then reaches the fourth post, a rounder is scored.If the batter fails to hit the ball and reaches the fourth post, a half-rounder is scored.If the batter hits the ball and reaches the second post, a half-rounder is scored.A fielder obstructs a batter running to a post, a half-rounder is scored.If the batter hits the ball and reaches the first, second or third post without being out, the batter stays at that post (and must keep in contact with it) until the next ball is bowled. As soon as the ball leaves the bowler's hand, such a batter can run to the next post, if they wish, even if a no-ball is called.If the batter does not keep contact with the post, the fielding side can stump the next post to get the player out. 2 batters cannot be at the same post so a batter must run on to the next post if the next batter catches up with them.A batter who continues in this way and reaches the fourth post scores a half-rounder.Once the fourth post is reached, the person goes to the back of the batter's line and awaits their next turn to bat.
That Jon will score when the next batter hits a double.
No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.
Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.
No. If a player reaches base due to a fielder's error, the batter does not receive credit for a hit, but does get credit for an at-bat. Therefore, the batter's average will descend, but the batter's on-base percentage will increase.
Ball is hit over the outfield fence, or batter runs through the bases without an error by the defensive team and reaches home safely.