Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-03-23 10:58:47

The Lions were champs in 1935, 1952, 1953 and 1957. ------------------------------ But they have yet to get a Super-Bowl win.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

When was the Detroit Lions Last Championship?

The Lions last NFL championship was 1957. The Lions last division championship was 1993.

What year was the Detroit Lions best record?

1953. The Lions went 10-2 (.833 winning percentage) in 1953 and won the NFL championship, defeating the Cleveland Browns in the championship game.

Who went to 1957 Super Bowl?

The Detroit Lions and Cleveland Browns went to the 1957 NFL championship, and the Detroit Lions won 59-14.

When did the Detroit Lions first enter the NFL?

The Detroit Lions officially played their first match in 1929 as a team with no sponsors. It wasn't until the year later in 1930 that the Detroit Lions entered the NFL.

When did Bob Miller play for the Detroit Lions?

Bob Miller, defensive tackle on three Detroit Lions NFL championship teams (1952, 1953, 1957), was with the Lions from 1952-1958.

Quarterbacks that won nfl championship prior to the Super Bowl?

Bobby Layne for the Detroit Lions

What year did the Lions enter the NFL?

1930-1933, Portsmouth Spartens 1934, Detroit Lions

What is the worst scoring NFL team this year?

The worst scoring NFL team this year is the Detroit Lions!!! Do you pay attention the the NFL?????!!!!!??????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When did the Detroit Lions last win?

The Detroit Lions won 9 games in 2016 but the Green Bay Packers won the division championship. They won the division in 1991. They last won the NFL championship in 1957. That was before the Super Bowl.

What year did the Detroit Lions join the NFL?

1930, then known as the Portsmouth Spartans.

What year were the Detroit Lions founded?

The Lions were originally the Portsmouth, Ohio Spartans, founded in 1929. The Spartans joined the NFL in 1930 and moved to Detroit in 1934, becoming the Lions.

How many Super Bowls have the Detroit Lions win?

Yes, four times when the Superbowl was called the NFL Championship Game.

What year did the Detroit Lions win their division championship?

Through the 2009 season, the last division championship the Lions won was 1993 when they went 10-6 and won the NFC Central division. Since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, the Lions also won division championships in 1991 and 1983.

What year did the lions win the Super Bowl?

Lions have never won a Superbowl but they won the NFL championship before it was called the Superbowl.

How many playoff games did the Detroit Lions have at home?

Through the 2008 season, the Lions have played 5 home playoff games: 1) 1935 NFL Championship Game - Lions 26, Giants 7 2) 1953 NFL Championship Game - Lions 17, Browns 16 3) 1957 NFL Championship Game - Lions 59, Browns 14 4) 1991 NFC Divisional Playoff Game - Lions 38, Cowboys 6 5) 1993 NFC Wildcard Playoff Game - Packers 28, Lions 24

What are the names of the Detroit Lions quarterbacks in the early 1960's?

If you click on the 'NFL Rosters from 1920' link on this page you can see the rosters of every team for every year they played in the NFL, including the Detroit Lions.

Who is the older NFL team Cleveland Browns or Detroit Lions?

The Lions

Who has the smallest NFL stadium?

Detroit lions

Does Michigan have a nfl team?

The Detroit Lions

Did the Detroit Lions win the super bowl in 1957?

The first Super Bowl was not played until January 1967 following the 1966 NFL/AFL seasons. The Detroit Lions did however win the 1957 NFL Championship, defeating the Cleveland Browns 59-14 in the title game.

How many championships have the Detroit lions have?

The Detroit Lions have 4 NFL Championships (but none in the Super Bowl era). The Lions have won NFL Championships in 1935, 1952, 1953, and 1957.

Which is the oldest NFL franchise to not win a NFL league championship?


What is the farthest the Detriot Lions ever gone in the playoffs?

The Detroit Lions were NFL champions in 1935, 1952, 1953, and 1957. Since the AFL-NFL Merger in 1970, the Lions have been to one NFC Championship game, that being in the 1991 season when they lost to the Washington Redskins.

Who won the 1952 Super Bowl?

There was no Super Bowl in 1952. It was first played in 1966. The Detroit Lions did win the NFL Championship in 1952. That was the second of the four League Championships the Lions have won.

When did the lions football team start?

The Detroit Lions actually started as the Portsmouth Ohio Spartans in 1930 and joined the NFL the same year. After the 1933 season, the team was sold and moved to Detroit where it was re-named the Lions.

Still have questions?