Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2007-08-05 23:22:50

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything

if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and

there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd

base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his

previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he

was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter

would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter

reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter

would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the

batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at

home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.