answersLogoWhite

0

  • American Football History
  • Baseball History
  • Baseball Rules and Regulations

Who was the last rookie starting pitcher with a minimum of 15 decisions to have a winning record on a team with at least 100 losses?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2006-07-24 02:15:56

Best Answer
Copy

Brian Kingman was 8-7 for the 1979 Oakland A's who were 54-108. Before that Tom Seaver was 16-13 for the 1967 NY Mets who were 61-101. Kingman ironically went on to become a 20 game LOSER the very net season going 8-20 for the A's. Not only did he remain the last 20 game loser for 23 years until Mike Maroth lost 21 for the Tigers in 2003 he did it for a winning team, the A's were 83-79. The last time that happened was in 1922 when Dolf Luque lost 20 for the Cincinnati Reds.

2006-07-24 02:15:56
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Winning pitcher rule?

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run is scored.


If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.


How many pitches does a pitcher need to be eligible for a win in 9 inning game?

Pitch count has nothing to do with eligibility to be the winning pitcher. In a scheduled 9-inning game, the starting pitcher must pitch 5 complete innings to be eligible to be the winning pitcher. Relief pitchers must be the pitcher of record when the winning team takes the lead, and never relinquishes the lead, to be the winning pitcher.


How does a pitcher earn the win starting leaves the game up 4 - 0. releaving pitcher allows 4 runs. we end up winning by 1 run scoring in the 6th. who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. This could be the relief pitcher even though he gave up four runs, blowing the lead, if said relief pitcher was the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. The starting pitcher, even though he pitched well in this situation, cannot be credited the win.


Will a starting pitcher still get the win if the bullpen lets the opposing team tie the game but then regains the lead later?

No once the game is tied, the winning and losing pitchers will be determined at that time. The winning pitcher will be the pitcher who pitched the last out of the half inning before his team took the lead for good, and the losing pitcher will be the pitcher who allowed the winning run on base


If starting Pitcher leaves game top 9th inning after 1 batter his team is winning the relief pitcher allows score to be tied bottom of 9th original winning team scores and wins. Who gets win?

The last pitcher in during a tie for the winning team gets the win.


Can the winning pitcher get a complete game shutout for a rain out 5 inning game?

Five innings is the minimum for a complete game, so the answer is yes.


Who usually gets credit for winning a baseball game?

Generally, the pitcher who last pitched for the winning team right before the winning team took the lead for good, except that the starting pitcher cannot get credited for a win unless he pitches at least 5 innings (and his team takes the lead for good).


Who was the winning pitcher of the 2008 World Series?

J.C. Romero was the winning pitcher in game 5 of the 2008 World Series.


Who was the winning pitcher in game 2 of the 2013 World Series?

St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Michael Wacha was the winning pitcher of Game 2 of the 2013 World Series.


Does the pitcher before the save get the win?

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.


Who was the winning pitcher in game 3 of the 2000 World Series?

John Franco was the Winning pitcher in game 3 of the 2000 World Series.


Is it possible to be both the winning losing pitcher in one game of baseball?

No, there is no way possible, but it is possible to be a losing and winning pitcher in one DAY!!!


Who was winning pitcher in 1991 game 7 World Series?

Jack Morris was the winning pitcher in game 7, of the 1991 World Series.


How many innings must a starting pitcher in the mlb all star game pitch?

There is no limit in regards to how many innings a Starting Pitcher must pitch in the Major League Baseball All Star game, a team can be winning and the Starting Pitcher could pitch only 2 innings but because All Star games have different rules, they can be given the Win.


What considerations does umpire use to judge the winning pitcher of a game?

In the event that a winning team's Starting Pitcher is removed from a game before he can pitch the necessary 5 innings to qualify for a win and his team never gives up the lead or never lets the opposing team tie the score then the decision on the Winning Pitcher is at the home team's official scorer's discretion, the field umpires have nothing to do with the decision. According to the rules the official scorer has to make a judgment call on which pitcher pitched the best or most effectively when coming into the game.


Is it possible Be both the winning and losing pitcher in the game?

no


Who was the winning pitcher in the last game of the 2010 World Series?

Tim Lincecum of the San Francisco Giants was the winning pitcher in the final game of the 2010 World Series.


How many innings must a starting pitcher pitch to win a 7 inning game?

It's five innings. The rule doesn't make much sense unless you understand the lingo, but here it is anyways. (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17(c) applies. Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. (b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.


What pitcher has the highest winning percentage postseason?

im not positive but the best pitcher ever was Lew Gerig


Who earns credit for winning baseball game?

The pitcher who's team wins the game from the point where the last score was tied. However, for a starting pitcher to get credit for a win they must pitch into the 5th inning and have their team tied or leading at the time .


What are the rules for a save for a pitcher?

Relieving pitcher finishing the game and his team wins, with relieving pitcher coming in while his team is already winning.


Who was winning pitcher game 7 of 1986?

Roger McDowell


Winning pitcher in World Series 2006?

heather Wilson


Winning pitcher in final game in 1980?

Bob Welch