Who won the A L batting title in 1983?

  1. Nap Lajoie led the American League in its inaugural season with a .426 batting average, one of just 13 seasons of a .400+ average in the 20th century. In addition, Lajoie was a part of two separate contested batting average races in 1902 and 1910. Wade Boggs won four consecutive batting titles from 1985 to 1988.
Wade Boggs led the 1983 American League with a .361/.444/.486 (AVG/OBP/SLG).