answersLogoWhite
World Series
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a pitcher be relieved after a pitch but before the batter is either out or places the ball in play?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-05-04 21:22:58
2011-05-04 21:22:58

Yes. Either the pitcher or the batter may be substituted for at any point in the at-bat. Only if it is not the first hitter that pitcher is facing, if it is the first batter he faces, he must pitch the entire at-bat unless injured, then he may be removed from the game

Related Questions

User Avatar

No. The batter is indeed "out," but the play is not a "strike out" for either the batter or the pitcher.

User Avatar

It means when the pitcher gets the batter out himself by throwing 3 strikes, either by the batter swinging and missing, or by the ball being in the strike zone and the batter not swigning

User Avatar

Either a Strike or a Ball. Depending on your where the ball ends up.

User Avatar

Hit By Pitch - when a batter is struck by a thrown ball from the pitcher, either intentionally or unintentionally.

User Avatar

Yes, a batter can change from one side of the plate to the either during his at-bat, but he cannot do it once the pitcher is ready to pitch. Rule 6.06(b) states: A batter is out for illegal action when stepping from one batter's box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.