Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a relief pitcher come into a game in a non-save situation then give up runs to get into a save opportunity?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 18:39:47
2015-07-15 18:39:47

Not at all. 1. save rule (n) the baseball rule that credits a relief pitcher with a save if he comes into a game with his team ahead and completes the game with his team winning, and meets one of the following conditions: a) enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning, or b) enters the game with the potential tying runner on base, at bat, or on deck, or c) pitches for at least three innings

Absolutely not. A pitcher cannot create his own save situation; if it's not a save situation when he enters, he's not getting a save, no matter what he does. If he's pulled for another reliever, that second reliever could get a save.


Related Questions

User Avatar

Relief pitcher J.C. Romero. Relief pitcher J.C. Romero.

User Avatar

Relief Pitcher - video game - happened in 1994.

User Avatar

Relief Pitcher - video game - was created in 1994-05.

User Avatar

The least paid relief pitcher in Major League Baseball in 2011 was 414,000 dollars. The highest paid relief pitcher that same year was paid 15 million dollars.

User Avatar

The cast of Relief Pitcher - 1992 includes: Jack Buck as Commentator

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.