answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Yes, if it's caught for an out. I saw Jose Canseco make a smart play once (which surprised me because he was usually pretty dumb.) Score tied in the bottom of the ninth, one out and a runner on third, Canseco was playing right field. There was a long fly ball hit towards him, and he let it drop foul rather than catch it for the out--because the runner on third would have tagged up and scored the winning run.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 18:45:55
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
1
๐Ÿคจ
1
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
1
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: Can you tag up on a foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Can you tag up and run on a foul ball?

yes u can tag on a foul ball if it is caught in foul territory


Does a baserunner have to tag up after a foul ball?

No, it is optionalaction. The base runner can tag up anytime a fly ball is hit out of the infield. They can't tag up on a fly ball hit in the infield. They also can tag up on a foul ball hit anywhere on the field but they don't have to.


Do you have to tag up after a foul ball even if it not caught?

If a foul ball is not caught in the air, the ball is dead, so there would be no tag up opportunity. If it is caught in the air, the runners can tag up and advance at their own risk.


Do you need to tag up for a foul ball?

Yes.


If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


In softball can you run on a foul?

Yes you can tag up and advance on a caught foul ball.


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.


Is it a sacrifice fly if it is a foul ball and the foul ball is caught?

No. But it is an RBI if a runner scores on the play.But if he doesn't tag up he's out if they throw it to the base he was at.


In baseball and you're on base and a foul ball is caught can you tag up?

Yes, you may tag up and advance at your own risk.


Can you tag up if the ball is caught at the pitchers mound on a pop up?

You can tag up on any popup or flyball no matter where it is caught, even if it is caught in foul territory. Now it might not be the smartest thing to tag up on a ball popped up to the pitcher though, but you can do it if you want


Do you have to tag up on a foul tip?

No.


Can a base runner be thrown out if a foul ball is hit?

Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


Runner on 3rd. Batter hits fly ball foul and it is caught.Can they tag the player on 3rd if she is off the base?

Yes. A foul fly ball is no different than a fair fly ball. The runner at third can tag up and try for home after the catch and the defense can try to throw the runner out at third if she is not paying attention.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


When a foul ball is hit does the base runner have to touch the base?

Yes. He must tag the base.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


What is a foul tip in basball?

A foul tip is when the batter hits the ball with a small piece of the bat and the ball lands foul. A pop up to the catcher is not a foul tip.


Can you advance on a caught foul ball?

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up


How do you get people out in baseball?

To get someone out in baseball you must mainly eitherstrike the out with three strikescatch a foul ballif they hit it catch ittag a runner with the balltag the base of a forced runner


Why do sportscasters distinguish between a fly ball caught in foul and fair territory. Don't the same tag-up rules apply and if not whats the difference?

The same tag up rules apply. My guess is that the announcer is simply giving as much detail as possible about the fly ball.


Can a catcher use his mask to pick up a foul ball?

No, the catcher can not pick up the foul ball with his mask. If so, a base is rewarded to the batter.


Can a runner tag and run on a foul ball which is caught and dropped?

If the ball is held long enough to have possession and called an out then yes. If the ball is not held long enough for an out to be called then no.


When do you tag player with the ball?

havnt played in 2 years but i think i can remember. usually you have to tag a person when it is a foul. 2:) (that was a elvis face 2:) 2:))