College Football
University of Notre Dame

Has notre dame ever won a national football championship?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-12-29 17:30:56
2010-12-29 17:30:56

They have won 11 national football championships

User Avatar

Related Questions

Notre Dame won its first College Football National Championship in 1924.

Notre Dame played for the National Championship vs Boston College in Denver Colorado. Notre Dame beat Michigan to make it to the Final Game on the Frozen Four only to lose to BC.

1965 (Alabama) and 1966 (Notre Dame) they spilt the national championship and in 1962 they won it outright.

could you find me the roster of the 1988 national champion notre dame?

The University of Notre Dame has a storied football program. During its existence the school has won 11 national football championships.

Alabama played notre dame in 1957 in the national championship match which alabama won 42 to 26

The college football national championship is the highest team award in the sport. The Fighting Irish of Notre Dame has won the most championships in history.

The 2013 BCS National Championship Game was a contest between the Alabama Crimson Tide and the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

WVU played in the 1988 national championship against Notre Dame.

Notre Dame has won 11 National Championships the last one coming in 1988

Notre Dame has 13 National Championship titles, 11 of which are outright.

The most famous was Tony Rice a Quarterback in 1988 for the national championship team.

The Alabama Crimson Tide defeated the Notre Dame Fighting Irish, 42-14 on January 7, 2013. Alabama, with a final record of 13-1, was also awarded the a "national championship" by the Associated Press, the National Football Foundation and the Football Writers Association of America along with a host of other "minor" championship selectors. Notre Dame, with a final record of 12-1, was awarded a "national championship" by the Colley Matrix, a "minor" championship selector.

Notre Dame Football on NBC was created in 1991.

The two teams were undefeated when they met in the Sugar Bowl on December 31, 1973. The game, a classic struggle between two great coaches and two great teams, was won by Notre Dame by the score of 24-23. The Associated Press named Notre Dame national champions but the United Press International, who voted for the national championship prior to the playing of bowl games, named Alabama as national champions.

Notre Dame is well known for being the Irish football team, and also for the achievments the team has accomplished. Notre Dame has claimed 11 national championships; however, their last was 1988.

Princeton has 29, Yale has 26, Alabama has 14, and Notre dame is tied in 4th place with Michigan and USC

The duration of Notre Dame Football on NBC is 3.5 hours.

As of Charlie Weis, Notre Dame has had 29 head football coaches. Click on the 'Notre Dame Football Coaches' link below to see a list of them.

notre dame Princeton also has 17 national titles

Notre Dame, with 13 National Championships 11 of which are outright.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.