answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The state does not have an emancipation status. Emancipation cases are accepted on individual basis, however, very seldom does the court grant early emancipation rights to a minor. Here's a link with some info on emancipation in Indiana: http://www.bostoncoop.net/lcd/emancipation/indiana.html I also found this link, which I thought was interesting, and from what I've heard from other people (attorneys, court officials, etc), it's accurate in the regard that emancipation is actually a rare thing (which is not to say that it doesn't occur): http://experts.about.com/q/920/1212970.htm BEGIN QUOTE: Subject:Minor Emancipation Question I know you practice law in Indiana, but I am trying to find out what age a minor has to be to petition for emancipation in Kentucky. I've searched the Kentucky Revised Statutes. Any ideas where I can look to find the minimum age? Answer I don't think there is a minimum age to file for emancipation. YOu file if you are younger than 18. What you have to show is a plan for living, a plan for supporting yourself and employment. It is a VERY rare thing, VERY. In the 12 years I have practiced I have never seen it done. It is done for professional athletes, like ice skater, etc. It is a very rare thing for a normal, average citizen. Denise F. Hayden Attorney at Law Indianapolis IN USA END QUOTE The state does not have grounds nor procedures for the emancipation of a minor. Indiana Family Services investigate reported cases of child abuse and/or neglect and take the appropriate action needed. Emancipation of a minor is only allowed for the purpose of said minor receiving medical care or in some cases for a pregnant minor to be eligible for public assistance. In such cases the minor will be under the supervision of the division of state social services.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-09 02:46:11
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How does a minor get emancipated in Indiana?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a minor be emancipated with parent or guardian's permission in Indiana?

Only the court can emancipate a minor. There are several requirements that has to be met.


Can a girl get emancipated at the age of 14 in Indiana?

No, fourteen is much too young. Most places require the minor to be at least 16 and show proof of support to get emancipated.


Can a 16 year old that is pregnant get emancipated in Indiana without parental consent?

Indiana doesn't have a emancipation status. Emancipation cases are accepted on individual basis but very seldom does the court grant early emancipation rights to a minor. The only cases where a pregnant minor has been emancipated it's because she had to be eligible for public assistance. In such cases the minor was be under the supervision of the division of state social services.


Can a ward of the state in Indiana get emancipated?

can a miner who was adopted from the state of indiana become emancipated


How do you become emancipated at 17 years of age in the state of Indiana?

Indiana does not have established grounds nor procedures for the emancipation of minors. A minor is considered emancipated if they marry or enlist in the military both of which require the consent of the parent(s) or legal guardian. One exception with limitations is to allow a pregnant minor to be eligible for public benefits to receive health care. This does not mean the minor female would be allowed to live independently of parents or adult supervision.


Can a 16 year old girl get emancipated if they're pregnant in Indiana?

{| |- | No Indiana does not have an emancipation statute. You are not emancipated just because you are pregnant. Being a parent under the age of majority does not change that. However, the minor does have rights when it comes to the child and should contact social services in their community to discuss their options. |}


When can a minor be emancipated?

in Washington state a minor can legally be emancipated at the age of 16


Can an emancipated minor go to jail?

Yes. An emancipated minor is legally an adult.


Is a sixteen year old considered emancipated if they are pregnant in the state of Indiana?

No, you are considered a minor in all states unless you have went through the emancipation process.


If a 17 year old becomes pregnant does that make her responsible and emancipated per Indiana law?

You are not emancipated just because you are pregnant. Being a parent under the age of majority does not change that. And Indiana does not have an emancipation statute. However, they minor does have rights when it comes to the child and should contact social services in their community to discuss their options.


How can a minor get emancipated?

A minor can become emancipated by petitioning the court for it. State laws vary but most states allow minors to be become emancipated at age 16.


18 year old stepson still in high school not living with parents how can I emancipate this child in Indiana?

He is no longer a minor at 18, he is an adult. He is all ready emancipated.


Can you move out at 17 in Indiana?

No, you cannot move out without your parents' permission. The legal age of majority in Indiana is 18. If you leave home without parental consent your parents can report you as a runaway. Indiana does allow a minor to petition for emancipation. You could try to get legally emancipated by a judge, but that will be a difficult process.


Can an emancipated minor own a house?

An emancipated minor is legally an adult. They may own whatever they choose and can afford.


What do you have to do to get emancipated in Indiana if you are sixteen?

The state does not offer grounds nor procedures for emancipation of a minor except in judicial matters concerning the termination of parental rights by the court. Indiana laws do address the issue of "partial emancipation" when it pertains to a minor being involved in an motorcycle racing and other specified types of amateur sports/activities.


How do you get emancipated at the age of 16 in the state of Indiana?

Indiana does not have an emancipation statute.


Is a minor automatically emancipated if she is pregnant or already has a child?

No, she is not emancipated automatically.


Can a minor have a roommate when they become emancipated?

Why not? A legally emancipated minor has pretty much all the rights of an adult, having a roommate doesn't change anything.


Can a minor become emancipated in Ohio?

Ohio does not allow a minor to petition the court for emancipation. A minor is automatically emancipated if they marry or join the military, both of which require parental consent.


How does a minor child get emancipated in the state of Maine?

A minor can get emancipated at the age of 16 in the state of Maine. The minor will have to get an attorney to represent them in court and to file paperwork for the judge to hear the case.


What is the legal age that a teenager can move out of their parents house in the state of Georgia with or without parental consent?

16 Years of age is the limit. There are four (4) ways to become emancipated under Georgia law:When a minor is legally married, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor turn 18 years of age, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor is on active duty in the U.S. military, the minor is automatically considered emancipatedA minor can file a petition in the Juvenile Court asking for a court order stating that he or she is emancipated. The parents either must approve or minor must prove it is in best interest to be emancipated.


What is the lowest age to get emancipated in Indiana?

Indiana Sorry, there is no emancipation status for this state.


How can you get and emancipation petition for Indiana?

WHAT IS THE FIRST STEP IN GETTING EMANCIPATED IN THE STATE OF INDIANA


Can you be emancipated at sixteen years old in Indiana?

Sorry, Indiana does not have an emancipation statute.


What is the age to be emancipated in penn?

A minor can be emancipated at the age of 16 and above in the state of Pennsylvania. The minor will have to retain an attorney and file a motion with the courts.