College Basketball
Basketball History
March Madness

How many national championships does North Carolina have in mens basketball?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-03-14 09:02:24
2011-03-14 09:02:24


1957 1982 1993 2001 and 2009

They also won 1920 championship. They didn't have the bracket and Carolina went undefeated.

They did not win in 1924 (or 1920). The Helms Foundation retroactively voted for its own 'National Champions' and in 1941 selected UNC for the 1924 season.

Many schools do not recognize these awards as legit National Championships, including Kentucky which was selected for multiple years.

Butler also claims to own the 1924 title for its AAU Tournament National Championship.

User Avatar

Related Questions

They have won 5 Championships in basketball.

Through 2014 UNC has won 5 national championships in men's basketball - 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005 & 2009.

In basketball they have won 5 championships in Division 1.

The University of North Carolina does not have any national championships in football.

The UCLA Bruins have 11 championships, followed by the Kentucky Wildcats with 7, the Indiana Hoosiers and North Carolina Tarheels with 5 and the Duke Blue Devils with 4.

The University of North Carolina won the men's 2009 championship and the University of Connecticut won the women's.

UCLA 11 ChampionshipsKentucky 7Indiana & North Carolina 5Duke 4Kansas 3

U.C.L.A.-11 Kentucky-8 Indiana-5 North Carolina-5 Duke-4 UConn-4

yes, in 2009 they beat Michigan State Michigan State-MSU North Carolina-UNC

North Carolina has won 18 ACC Tournament Championships and 31 regular season titles.

The University of North Carolina Tar Heels have not won any national titles in football.

North Carolina has won 5 national championships, in 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009. Duke has won 4, in 1991, 1992, 2001 & 2010. Teams with more or the same amount of championships than UNC and Duke: UCLA - 11 Championships Kentucky - 7 Championships Indiana - 5 Championships Connecticut - 4 Championships Kansas - 3 Championships

North Carolina, Duke, NC State and Maryland.

Kentucky. NCAA Tournament Championships: 11 - UCLA, 7 - Kentucky, 5 - Indiana, 4 - North Carolina, 3 - Kansas, 3 - Duke several with 2: Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Michigan State, North Carolina State, Oklahoma A & M (now Oklahoma State), San Francisco Helms Foundation Championships: North Carolina and Kansas officially claim Helms Foundation National Championships, awarded to them before 1939, the first year of the national championship tournament. Kansas has 2, UNC 1.

UCLA has won the most NCAA Men's Basketball Championships with 11. Kentucky is next with 7, and Indiana and North Carolina both have 5 wins.

I don't know how many they lost but they won in 1957,1982,1993,2005,2009

As of 2009, North Carolina has won 5, and Duke has won 3 since 1938. North Carolina also won in 1924, so if you count before 1938, they have a total of 6 National Titles.

University of North Carolina Tar Heel Men's Basketball has won five championships in the teams history. Those years are 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, and 2009.

The University of North Carolina has won five NCAA men's basketball championships (1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009). In addition, the school was awarded the Helms Foundation Championship in 1926 prior to the creation of the NCAA.

North Carolina Miss Basketball was created in 1985.

North Carolina Mr. Basketball was created in 1985.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.