How many people have won EGOTs?

What medicine relieves

As of October 2019, 15 people have won EGOTs.

That phrasing might be a little misleading. The EGOT isn’t a specific award; it’s an accomplishment. To say that someone “has” an EGOT simply means they’ve won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony.

Here’s a list of the 15 winners:

  • Richard Rodgers
  • Helen Hayes
  • Rita Moreno
  • John Gielgud
  • Audrey Hepburn
  • Marvin Hamlisch
  • Jonathan Tunick
  • Mel Brooks
  • Mike Nichols
  • Whoopi Goldberg
  • Scott Rudin
  • Robert Lopez
  • John Legend
  • Andrew Lloyd Webber
  • Tim Rice

The term "EGOT" was invented by Miami Vice actor Philip Michael Thomas, who mentioned the achievement in a 1984 interview. Thomas has not been nominated for any of the awards, but he did commission a gold EGOT pendant, which he wore around his neck (a decision parodied by Tracy Morgan on the sitcom 30 Rock).

To win an EGOT, a celebrity can win any award in any competitive category. Several entertainers who technically have all four awards aren’t typically considered EGOT achievers because they won non-competitive awards (Barbra Streisand, for instance, received a "Star of the Decade" Tony Award in 1970). And while the general consensus is to count Daytime Emmys toward EGOTs (the E in Goldberg’s EGOT, for example, is a Daytime Emmy), there is some contention over whether it should be restricted to the primetime segment of the awards.

It’s also possible to achieve an EGOT posthumously—Audrey Hepburn, for example, completed hers about a year after her death with a 1994 Grammy win for her children’s album Audrey Hepburn’s Enchanted Tales.

More than 40 entertainers are one award away from an EGOT, including Viola Davis, Cher, Common, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Dick Van Dyke, Julie Andrews, and Helen Mirren.