How many prefectures is Japan divided into?

User Avatar
Wiki User
September 13, 2011 2:47AM

there are 47 prefectures in japan. Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto are some of the prefectures . In Japanese they are reffered to as todōfuken (都道府県) Prefectures are governmental bodies larger than cities,toens and villages.

I found this information at :