answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

Yes, it is interference. If, in the umpire's judgment, it was unintentional, the play continues as normal. If it was intentional, the ball is called dead and runners/batter gets two bases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:06:00
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: In a baseball game if a hitter hits a fair ball down the line and it hits the ball girl is that considered an interference?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Is a runner considered out in baseball if he gets hit by the ball?

yes unless he is standing on the base It is also interference. Y-THINK-Y These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional. It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference. A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.


What is interference in baseball?

when a runner interferes with a fielders opportunity to field the ball, interference is called and it is an offensive foul. Obstruction is a defensive foul.


Can a baseball player be pushed off a base and tagged out?

No, this would be considered a dead ball play. A blatant obstruction might be deemed interference and the runner awarded a base.


What do you call the guy who hits the ball with the baseball bat in baseball?

The hitter...


Is a runner out for interference if accidentally contacted by a thrown ball?

depends on the sport, but in baseball yes he is out. its called bean-baging EDIT: No. Baseball is not kickball. A baserunner is not out if he/she is hit by a thrown ball as long as the baserunner is in the base path. If the runner is considered to have left the base path as so to interfere with a thrown ball, or made some other purposeful effort to impede the flight of the ball (ie, stick his/her hand or leg in the way), they can be called out for interference. This is a judgment call made at the discretion of one of the umpires. However, a baserunner is considered automatically out if struck by a batted ball. And as far as I know, bean-bagging is not a term used in baseball.


What happens if a ball hits the backstop and the on deck hitter picks it up as a runner is coming home?

Interference, runner scores


Is a Batted ball that hits a bat in foul territory considered foul?

Yes. If the bat is lying on the ground when the ball hits it, the ball is considered foul. The bat is treated as an extension of the ground, just like a clump of dirt. An exception to this rule is if the bat is thrown toward the ball (for instance by the player on deck) then there is interference on the play, and interference rules apply.


What is a pithcher in baseball?

it is the player who pitches the ball to the hitter on the opposite team!:0 (in other words its the person who throws the ball to the hitter)-sierra


Is a baseball caught in the stands an out?

If it is caught by the player in the stands with no interference (such as a fan tipping the ball up), it is an out.


What happens if in baseball the ball goes into the runners jersey?

If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over


A runner is hit by the ball in the back running to first is the ball dead?

Only if it is ruled interference by the umpire -- dead ball and runner is out, no other runners advance.... if no interference is called, this is a live ball


Can a fielder in baseball run over a baserunner to get the ball?

no the feilder cant make contact with the runner or ts interference and its a free base


Illegal interference with the ball when the ball is above the basket in basketball?

goaltending


In little league baseball is a foul ball considered a strike?

yes


Is a passed ball considered a steal in baseball?

No. Passed balls and wild pitches are not considered stolen bases.


Did Randy Johnson get a do-over when his pitch struck that bird?

It was considered an interference and ruled as a dead ball (how ironic), so the pitch didn't count.


What is the call when a Baseball Umpire is struck by a thrown ball?

The Umpires get together and the Umpire can call interference on himself and the playing running or batting has to redo it


In the NFL what occurs when there is a defensive pass interference?

Automatic First DownThere shall be no interference with a forward pass thrown from behind the line, is one rule about interference. Defensive pass interference is called when a defensive player interferes with a receiver's attempt to catch the ball. If the defender makes contact with the receiver, it is pass interference, unless the contact is incidental, or done in order to make a play on the ball. For example the defensive player can knock the ball down, even if he has to contact the receiver to do it. But he cannot push the receiver, trip him, grab his arm, pull his shirt, etc. Typically referees will call pass interference if the defensive player makes contact with the receiver but is not looking back at the ball.When defensive pass interference is called, the offense receives an automatic first down, and the ball is placed where the interference occurred. If the interference occurs in the end zone, the ball is placed on the one yard line. Pass interference cannot be challenged once called.


What is the umpire interference rule in high school baseball?

There are two types of umpire interference: when the umpire hinders the catcher's attempt to throw the ball and when an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball before it touches or passes an infielder, other than the pitcher. In the case of interference on a catcher's throw; if the throw retires the runner, the play stands, if not, the ball is dead and all runners return to their bases. In the case of interference on an infielder, the batter-runner is awarded first base and all other runners advance only if forced to do so.


Mustang baseball player was walked to 1st base is the ball considered a dead ball?

No it's live ball,but if the batter is hit by a pitch it's a dead ball.


What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.


In volleyball what is considered a replay?

Replays are when either there is interference on the court...such as other people or another ball rolling on the court Replays can also happen when the referee could not see where the ball hit the ground (if it was in or out) or was not paying attention


What happens if in baseball the ball gets stuck in a runners jersey?

If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


Can the pitcher block the plate in little league if he doesn't have the ball?

No, he can not. Since he does not have the ball he will be called for interference.


What type of sport is softball?

Softball is a variation of baseball. It is played on a smaller field than baseball and with a larger ball. Baseball and softball are considered a Bat and Ball (Safe Haven) type of Physical sport.