Is there a statute of limitations on child support arrearage in Arkansas?
There is, but it varies depending on your arrearage. Failure to
support is what is called a continuing condition. In other words,
every month you fail to pay, the charge remains. Therefore, the
statute of limitations does not even START until your youngest
child is 18. Then, the clock starts ticking on the statute of
limitations. If, at that time, you owe less than $25,000, the
statute of limitations is three years. If you owe more than
$25,000, the SoL is five years.
Failure to support is a Class B felony and can rack up some serious
jail time and hefty fine on top of child support payments. Arkansas
is one of the states known to seriously go after "deadbeat"
parents, both moms and dads.