Is there gluten in modified starch?

When a food label reads "modified food starch", they are telling you that there is some kind of starch in the product. It could be wheat starch, corn starch, tapioca starch, rice starch, etc. What you should do if you see modified food starch is call the 800 number on the pack of the product and specifically ask them what kind of starch is in that product. In North America, modified food starch is safe for celiacs. In other countries, you must contact to find out which starch it is from.