Softball
Baseball Equipment
Baseball Rules and Regulations

The umpire calls a ball batted behind homeplate a foul ball. The ball spins back onto homeplate without being touched. Is the ball fair or foul?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-08-16 20:46:26

If the ball landed behind home plate, it is already a foul ball,

even if it rolls back into fair territory.

If the batter already has 2 strikes and then the ball is bunted

foul, it's an out.

The above answer is wrong. If a batted ball lands behind home

plate but rolls forward and settles on the plate or in front of the

plate, it is a fair ball.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.