answersLogoWhite

0

  • Banking
  • Criminal Law

What amount of a bad check is a felony?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2014-05-02 20:50:38

Best Answer
Copy
Criminal Penalties by States
  • Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.
  • Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.
  • Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.
  • Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.

When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.

  • California. Where amount is less than $200 an is first offense, up to one year in county jail.
  • Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.

Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.

  • Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.
  • Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.
  • Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.
  • Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.

When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.

  • Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.
  • Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.
  • Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.
  • Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.
  • Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.
  • Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.
  • Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.
  • Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.
  • Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.
  • Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.
  • Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.
  • Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.
  • Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.
  • Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.
  • Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)
  • Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.
  • Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.
  • New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.
  • New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.
  • New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.
  • New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.
  • North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.
  • North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.
  • Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.
  • Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.
  • Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.
  • Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.
  • Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.
  • South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.
  • South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.
  • Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.
  • Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.
  • Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.
  • Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.
  • Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.
  • Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.
  • West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.
  • Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.
  • Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
2014-05-02 20:50:38
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

What amount of bad check is felony in Ohio?

A bad check that is purposely passed over $1000 is considered a felony in Ohio. If the check is less than $5000, it is considered a class 5 felony.


Is writing a bad check of 500.00 a felony in Arkansas?

Depending on what state you live in, the amount for a bad check to be considered a felony varies. For example, in Nevada, writing a bad check for $250 or more is considered a felony. In Fairfax County, Virginia, writing a bad check for $200 or more is considered a felony. As to Arkansas, yes it is.


What amount is of bad check is felony in Ohio?

If the check or checks equals $1,000 to $7,500 it is a felony of the fifth degree. If the check or checks equals $7,500 to $150,000 it is a felony of the fourth degree. If the check or checks are for more than $150,000 it is a felony of the third degree.


Is writing a bad check a felony?

It depends on the state.Some states are stricter than others and it depends on the amount as well as the number of bad checks.More OpinionsYes writing a bad check is a felony it's called fraud.It depends upon the amount of the check and whether or not it was done with intent.


Is writing a bad check in Alabama a felony?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Alabama or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check


Is writing a bad check in Virginia a felony?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Virginia or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check


Is 1 bad check for 1500 dollars a felony in Pennsylvaina?

Is 1 bad check a felony


Is it a felony to write a bad check under 100 in Maryland?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Maryland or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check


Is writing a bad check a felony in Missouri?

It depends on the amount of the check. Generally, states distinguish between misdemeanors and felonies in theft and fraud charges with a dollar amount. If the theft is below that, it is a misdemeanor, and above is a felony. Check Missouri's code section.


What felony is it for writing a bad check?

how much is the limit on writing on bad checks in wisconsin before its a felony


Is check forgery considered a felony in Washington if the dollar amount is under 150?

Forging a check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Maryland or Washington or India. You can be jailed for forging a check


Statute of limitation for bad check writing in Kentucky?

Kentucky's statute of limitations are very basic and simple. Bad check writing could be a felony if it is a large enough amount. If the crime is a felony of any type there is no limit. Misdemeanors are set at 1 year.


What is the penalty for writing a bad cheque?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Maryland or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check


Is a bounced check a felony in minnesota?

Depends on the amount


Is bouncing a check over state lines a felony?

Intentionally providing a bad check is a felony - over state lines or not


What is the criminal penalty for writing bad checks in FLorida?

In Florida, writing bad checks is a serious crime. It may result in misdemeanor or felony prosecution, depending on amount of check.


Is writing a bad check a felony in South Carolina?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Maryland or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check One or more of the things below can happen: a. The person to whom you gave the check will not get money b. The bank will charge you a penalty for issuing a bad check c. The person to whom you gave the check may initiate legal proceedings against you and you can be jailed


What is the penalty for Writing a check on a closed account in Nevada state?

Writing a bad check is a felony irrespective of the amount of the check or the place where you are trying to. Even if the check is only a few dollars or even if it's a million dollars a bad check should not be written irrespective of whether you are in Nevada or Washington or India. You can be jailed for writing a bad check


Is writing a bad check in Gwinnett County GA a felony?

It is if the check is over $500.00


Is check fraud a felony?

This can depend on whether the fraudster was convicted multiple times, and/or the amount of the check.


What is the average jail sentence for writing bad checks?

The amount of jail time that is given for writing bad checks will depend on the city and state laws. In most cases, for a non felony check, a person will get 11 months 29 days suspended for a bad check.


Is writing an 1100 dollar bad check in Indiana a felony?

Yes.


Is it a felony to write a bad check to buy a gun?

Yes it could be.


What is the amount of a check that's considered a felony...?

Any amount that exceeds the amount that is in the account. no, incorrect. It depends on the state itself, what amount they consider a felony. For example, in south carolina anything 1,000 or greater is a felony, but in Kentucky 300.00 and up is a felony, my suggestion would be to search your state government website, should be listed there.


Difference between check fraud felony and misdemeanor?

Is the amount the deciding factor?