Asked in
Math and Arithmetic

What are quadrants of a graph?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 17, 2009 2:13PM

Divide the graph into 4 parts and each part is a quadrant. Traditionally, we use the x and y axis to divide it. The portion of the graph with positive x and y coordinates is the first quadrant, The second has positive y values and negative x values, while the third quadrant has both negative x and negative y values. The last is the fourth quadrants which is below the first quadrant. It has positive x values and negative y values. If you made the origin, the point (0,0) the center of a clock, the first quadrant is between 3 and 12 and the second between 12 and 9, the third between 9 and 6 and the fourth between 12 and 3.