Asked in Heart

What cavity contains the heart and lungs?


User Avatar
Wiki User

There are 2 main cavities in the body: ventral and dorsal.

Dorsal is divided into 2: cranial and spinal

Ventral is divided into: thoracic and abdominopelvic

Thoracic is divided into 3:

*pleural (holds lungs)

*pericardial (holds heart)

*mediastinum (holds trachea and esophagus)

Abdominopelvic is divided into 2:

*abdominal (holds liver, stomach, gall bladder)

*pelvic (holds colon, bladder, and reproductive organs)

Cardiothoracic is the grab name taken by the surgeons who specialize in this important area.