Asked in
History of China
China and Chinese Territories

What is the capital of Tibet?


User Avatar
Wiki User
December 06, 2014 8:49PM

Lhasa is the capital city of Tibet before 1959. It was the administrative center of Tibet and Gaden Podrang was the name of the government. After Chinese invasion, Tibetan plateau divided into four provinces out of Tibet autonomous region; they are Qinghai, Gansu, Sichuan and Yunnan provinces. These provinces are culturally much rich for Tibetan nomads as well.