Best Answer

Baptism must be received before any of the other sacraments are open to you. It is not a mere formality - in order to receive Christian sacraments one must be a Christian. Baptism leaves a permanent character upon the soul, identifying it before God as one who has received the New Covenant and thus the graces of the New Covenant are made directly available to the soul through the Church of which the soul is now a member.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What sacrament gives us access to other sacraments?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why is Baptism the Sacrament of all Sacraments?

Roman Catholic AnswerBecause without Baptism, you can not validly receive any of the other sacraments.

Which catholic sacrament comes first?

Baptism is the first sacrament to be received. A person must be baptized before receiving the other sacraments.

How is Jesus present in the sacramental life of the church?

Our Blessed Lord is in the sacraments in a very real way. THE Sacrament of Sacraments is the Eucharist, which is His Blessed Body and Blood. Starting with the Last Supper, Our Blessed Lord gives Himself to us under the appearances of bread and wine. In the other sacraments, He is present and gives His grace to those who receive those sacraments in a worthy manner, but He is not actually present in the same way that He is in the Eucharist.

What sacrament is the most significant in the 7 sacraments?

Actually all sacraments are equally significant. But you can consider 'Baptism' as the most significant because without receiving this sacrament you are not entitled to receive other sacraments.

What is baptism and why do they do it?

Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life. The gateway to life in the Spirit and the door which gives access to the other sacraments.

What is an obligatory Sacrament?

Roman Catholic AnswerBaptism is an obligatory Sacrament for, without it, no other Sacraments can be received, and Our Blessed Lord, Himself, said the we must be baptised.

What sacrament is related to the sacrament of matrimony?

If you are talking about the sacraments in their categories, you are speaking of the Sacraments of Vocation. Matrimony is the first of the vocational sacraments. The other is the Holy Orders. The Holy Orders are when a priest is ordained. In most situations, a person takes one sacrament or the other upon themselves. In few situations are they permitted both, but the Catholic church examines marriage of clergy members in special situations on a case by case basis.

Do you have to be baptized to do the rest of the sacraments?

In the Catholic Church, baptism is generally required before receiving the other sacraments. Baptism is seen as the gateway to the sacraments and the initiation into the Christian community. However, there may be exceptions made in certain circumstances, such as the sacrament of confession or reconciliation in cases of emergency or danger of death. Ultimately, the requirements for receiving sacraments can vary based on specific circumstances and the guidelines of the church.

What are Holy Orders in the 7 Sacraments of the Roman Catholic Church?

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which a man is ordained as a deacon, priest, or bishop by the laying on of hands and prayer. This sacrament conveys a special grace and power to serve the Church and administer the other sacraments. It is one of the seven sacraments recognized by the Roman Catholic Church.

What are the main five sacraments of Confirmation?

I have no idea what you mean by your question. Confirmation is a sacrament in itself and is not subdivided into 5 other sacraments. Maybe you can clarify your question so a correct answer can be provided.

What sacrament must you receive before receiving any other?

Baptism is the sacrament of initiation in which one becomes a child of God. It is impossible to receive any other sacraments without first receiving Baptism. Sacraments are real, physical acts but they are also symbols of the grace which is received from God. Trying to receive another sacrament without Baptism would only be going through the motions.

What is the names of the sacraments at the service of communion?

The sacraments at the Service of Communion is from the Catechism, the header for Chapter Three of Part Two: Question 1533 names Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist as the Sacraments of Initiation. In 1544 It mentions two other sacraments, Holy Orders and Matrimony directed towards the salvation of others. These five sacraments are "at the Service of Communion".