Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

When a batter advances to second on a bad throw to from the outfield is this a 2 base hit or a single and a stolen base?

123

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2011-04-04 22:39:18
2011-04-04 22:39:18

It counts as a single. an error is awarded to the fielder

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


A single is when the batter hits the ball and only advances to first base. A double is the same thing but he advances two instead of one ending up on second base.




I don't know how many ways, but here are the ones that I can think of. The batter hits a home run. (Even though he passes the base, he still reaches it) The batter hits a triple. The batter hits a double. The batter hits a ground-rule double. The batter hits a ball that gets stuck or lost in the outfield wall (or ivy) or other structure. The batter hits a single, but a fielder's error allows the batter to take an extra base. I can't think of any others.


No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.


Batter 1: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 2: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 3: Triples and stays at third. Batter 4: Hits an infield single, runner holds at third. Batter 4: Steals second while runner at third holds. Batter 5: Hits an infield single, runners at second and third hold. Batter 6: Hits a ball that strikes a baserunner in play. Runner is out and batter is credited with a single. No runs, 6 hits, a stolen base, and three LOB.


A legally batted fair ball in which the batter safely reaches 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or Home Base without an error being commited by the defense or an out being awarded as the result of a "Fielder's Choice". A batter may be awarded a "hit" by the official score keeper and then advance to other bases on an errors commited by the defense. Example: Batter hits ball to leftfield and the leftfielder lets the ball go between his legs and the batter/runner advances to 2nd base. The ruling by the officail scorer is a "single" hit then the batter advances on the error.


1st batter hits a ball to the outfield and is out at home trying to score. 2nd batter does the same thing. 3rd batter hits a double, 4th batter hits an infield single but the man on second is held at 2nd base, With 5th batter at bat the men on base pull off a double steal advancing to 2nd and 3rd base. the 5th batter also hits an infield single and the runners hold. Bases loaded. The 6th batter hits a long ball to the outfield, men on base advance toward home but in the jubulation they fail to touch home and await the 6th batter,who touches 3rd base and steps on home plate before the other base runners do and in then called out for passing the runners on the base. He is created with a triple and called out. 3 outs and the 1/2 inning is over.


In my opinion, if the pitcher who is responsible for the batter being on second base to begin with, then I believe it is an earned run...


If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.


Batter 1 triple out trying to come home Batter 2 triple out trying to come home batter 3 triple stays glued to third batter 4 double stays glued to second batter 5 single stays glued to first batter 6 single final out is a tag of home or a tag of the runner from first who didn't advance


A single is a hit that allows the batter to get to first base.


Yes. Second and third base are considered scoring position because a runner should be able to score on a single to the outfield.


The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


If he tries to stretch a single into a double and is thrown out as a result, then no, it is scored as an out at second base, not a base hit. The above is incorrect. The batter would be credited with a base hit -- specifically, a single -- and also as being thrown out at second. Check the box score from the Phillies night game of 2012 September 9 -- in the fifth inning Ryan Howard was thrown out at second exactly as described as above, but was credited with a hit.


A single is a hit that allows the batter to reach first base safely.


Yes because the runner who go called out for missing second would still be credited with a single


A single in softball is when the batter hits the ball and she gets to first base. A double would be her getting to second. A triple is getting to third. And a home run is getting around all four bases and coming home.


My son heard me read this question out loud and immediately piped up with six. Then he said five and went back to say six again. He is not 100% certain, but would love to hear from others on what they think is the correct answer. OK, Crystal. My pipes are warmed up and ready to go. The answer would be 6 and here is one scenario: First batter hits a triple and is thrown out at the plate trying for an inside the park home run. No runners on and one out. Second batter hits a triple and is thrown out at the plate trying for an inside the park home run. No runners on and two outs. Third batter hits a single. Runner on first and two outs. Fourth batter hits a single. Runners on first and second and two outs. Fifth batter hits a single. Bases loaded and two outs. Sixth batter hits a ball that strikes one of the runners. The runner is declared out and the batter is credited with a single. Six hits, no runs.


Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


the proper batter. Let's say batter 2 is supposed to be up but batter 3 bats instead. If the defensive team calls attention to the fact before he finishes his at bat - the batter 2 will bat and resume the count batter 3 had Now suppose batter 3 got a single and the defensive team called it to the umpires attention then batter 2 would be declared out and batter 3 would then bat again as he is thescheduled hitter. If the defensive team did not catch the batting out of order infraction before the first pitch to the next batter -which is batter 4- then batter 4 would be the legal batter



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.