answersLogoWhite

0


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2011-05-04 21:05:41

A base hit is a statistic credited to a batter when such batter reaches base safely, as set forth in this Rule 10.05.

(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:

(6) a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner and, in the official scorer's judgment, the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort.

(b)The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:

(4) fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner and, in the scorer's judgment, the batter-runner could have been put out at first base;

It all depends on what the official scorer thinks the possibility of a put out at 1st is. If they think the batter would have been out if they went directly to first then the batter doesnt get credit for a hit, if the score keeper feels he would have been safe, then it is a hit.

**If any lead runner is thrown out, then it is no hit, and scored as a fielder's choice

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


First batter gets on via error question if the next player up knocks him in does this batter get credit for an RBI and does the first guy get credit for the run scored?

Yes they get the credit


What is counted as a hit in baseball?

If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.


Does a batter get credit for a hit and RBI or is it a fielders choice with an RBI if the bases are loaded and the batter hits to an infielder who tries and fails to make a play at home?

The batter is credited with a Fielder's Choice only if, in the official scorer's opinion, the fielder could have easily retired another runner but elected not to do so.This is not an error.The batter gets credit for an RBI.I can foresee a scenario, like the one posted, where the ONLY possible play was to force the runner out at the plate. (Maybe it was a very good bunt) If the attempt to force out the runner at the plate is unsuccessful - you could award the batter with a hit and an RBI.In short, to answer this question accurately, more details about the nature of the play are needed.


Score a fielder's choice?

A fielder's choice counts as an at bat for the batter, however the batter does not get credit for a hit.


Would a batter get credit for an RBI if there is and error by the fielder and a runner scores?

no, unless the official scorer feels that the run would have scored even without the error


When a run scores on a balk does the batter get credit for the RBI?

No. No RBI is granted in this situation.


When a player gets caught in a rundown and a runner scores from third does anybody receive credit for a RBI?

Yes, the Official Scorer will credit a batter with a RBI in the event of a runner scoring from third in the event of a player getting caught in a run down however Official Scorers also will have the right to not credit the batter with a RBI in the event that they do not believe that the batter would have advanced the runner on third base to home plate.


What is the purpose of a free credit report?

The purpose of a free credit report is that the individual can get a report of their credit records. This way they can know what there standing is in terms of credit, and see if they have good credit or bad credit without paying any fees or services.


Who gets credit for putout when a bunted ball hits the batter?

MLB Rule 10.09b-4 is pretty unambiguous: The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a: ... (4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;


Can you reserve a hotel without a credit card?

It is impossible to Travel to Paris, France without a Credit Card or to reserve a Hotel without a Credit Card?


Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Does the batter get credit for an RBI on a passed ball?

No ... no RBI is credited for either a passed ball or a wild pitch.


When a batter hits a grand slam how many rbi does he get credit for?

Four. Three for the runners on, and one for the hitter.


Do you credit a hit to batter when runner leaves early for third out?

shut up u dumb $hit


Free Music without Credit Card?

free music downloads without credit card


Does a batter get credit for an RBI on an infield ground ball when he is thrown out at first with the bases loaded and a run scores?

Yes, The Batter is counted an RBI for every run he bats in regardless of whether he was safe or not.


In little league you have a batter in full count and change pitcher the new pitcher threw one strike and the batter is out who is responsible for that defensive out?

In any league, the last pitcher to pitch the ball is responsible for that batter. If he strikes him out, the credit goes to him, regardless of how many pitches he throws.


Can you transfer credit card without a job?

Yes you can transfer a credit card without a job..................vcklhjhiughjkghgja


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


If a batter tries to stretch a double into a triple but is out at third does he get credit for a double?

yes. he was just being stupid! haha


How do you get rid of a credit card without it hurting your credit?

Transfer your money to another credit card.


Where can you buy furniture on credit without a credit check?

save up


Can a company charge your credit card without permission?

No, a company can not charge a credit card without permission. This violation should be reported immediately to your credit card company.