When was the Big Ten Conference formed?

The Big Ten Conference was formed in 1896, was known as the Western Conference, and had seven members: University of Chicago

University of Illinois

University of Michigan

University of Minnesota

Northwestern University

Purdue University

University of Wisconsin The University of Iowa and Indiana University joined in 1899 and Ohio State University in 1912. The name was changed to Big Nine in 1899. The University of Michigan left the conference in 1907 and played 10 seasons as an independent. When they reentered the Conference in 1917, the name was changed to Big Ten. The University of Chicago left the conference after World War II and was replaced by Michigan State University. Penn State became a member in 1993.