Asked in
World Currencies
European Union

When was the euro first used in the EU?


User Avatar
Wiki User
March 17, 2018 6:43AM

The euro was first used in January 2001 (though there are many coins dated 1999 or 2000 that is because that was when the mint started making the coins.)

The euro were first used in the 12 founder-countries of the EuroZone: Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Greece, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Ireland, Germany, Finland and Austria (Western Europe).

Slovenia became a member in 2007, Malta and Cyprus in 2008, and Slovakia in 2009.