When you Save something on Netflix instead of adding it what does that mean?

"Save" is what you do with movies that are not available yet on Netflix. Since the movie is not available yet, you can't put it in your Queue. Instead, you put it in your "Saved" section (which is right below your Queue; just scroll down).

If and when the movie becomes available, it will automatically be moved from your Saved section to your Queue.