Football - Australian Rules

Who won the afl grand final in 1955?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-09-30 13:11:38

For all intents and purposes: Melbourne.

However, essentially, there WAS no AFL in 1955, as competitions

were each run within their own individual states - on a state by

state basis.

However, when this changed, the VFL (Victorian Football League)

affectively became the AFL by creating or drawing a few extra

interstate clubs in to form a national competition.

So, effectively, the answer to the original question is:


The Melbourne Football Club had a real heyday period in the VFL

during the 1950's decade, in which they won 5 premierships during

its last 6 years!!! The grand final lost was in 1958.

Since this extraordinary golden period, the club has won only

one flag - in 1964.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.