North Pole
South Pole

Why are there two poles?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-06-14 19:48:45
2009-06-14 19:48:45

All magnets no matter how small have two opposing poles, a north pole and a south pole. The Earth also has a magnetic field and so it too has two poles, a North and a South Pole. The Earth also spins on its axis, the ends of this axis are also called Poles. There are two ends, a North and a South pole which are close to but not exactly in the same positions as the Earth's two magnetic poles.

User Avatar

Related Questions

Two like poles will repulse. Two unlike poles will attract.

all magnets have two poles

Unlike poles Attract. Like poles Repel. So, Two North poles will repel each other and so will two South poles.

Something that has two poles is called bipolar. These poles in a magnet are called north seeking poles or south seeking poles depending on their direction.

Magnets have two poles north and south. Like poles repel and unlike poles attract.

A magnet has two poles which are known as north and south poles.

The lines joining the two poles are longitudes.

When the north poles of two magnets are placed together, they will repel each other.

two poles Snehasis Dutta

A manget has two (2) poles.

the poles effect it beacuse it can attract the poles

Answer. Two properties of a magnet are: (i) A magnet always has two poles: north pole and south pole.

An electromagnet has two poles; north and south.

Earth and Mars have ice poles.

Bar magnets have two poles.

The two poles of a magnet are called "north pole" and "south pole".

The two like poles will repel each other, and you'll need to push them to come together. The two unlike poles will attract each other, and you'll need to hold them to keep them apart.

Two magnetic north poles (or two magnetic south poles) repel one another.

Lines running between two poles are called Semicircles

Two magnetic south poles repel each other.

-- Opposite poles attract. -- Like poles repel.

Two, The North and South Magnetic Poles.

2All magnets have two poles.

There are two types of global poles; magnetic and geographic. Neither were invented. The magnetic poles are two points on the Earth where the magnetic field is most intense. The geographic poles are the northernmost and southernmost positions on the globe.

As far as I am aware there are only two Magnetic Poles, not three. They are the North and South Magnetic Poles.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.