Soccer History
FIFA World Cup
Defense of the Ancients

Why did Cannavaro win the FIFA World Best Player?



User Avatar
Wiki User

Fabio Canavaro won the FIFA World Player of the Year award in 2006 as he received the most votes in the selection process.

During voting, each coach and captain of an international team is allocated votes to determine the recipient of the award. Canavaro was the first, and currently only, defender to receive the FIFA World Player of the Year. He is also the oldest recipient of the award.