answersLogoWhite
Ask
Football - American
College Football
Football Rules and Regulations

Why is it not considered intentional grounding when a quarterback spikes the ball while in the pocket?

444546
Answer

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-10-17 18:01:04
2010-10-17 18:01:04

The rule says, "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion." When the QB spikes the ball he is not faced with a loss of yardage. The rule was phrased that way specifically so spiking the ball would not be against the rules.

1
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

If you look at the formation for a spike, there is a tight end or running back within five yards of the QB, therefore it's not intentional grounding.AnswerYou may want to check this, but I believe the definition of Intentional Grounding includes that the quarterback be at risk of being sacked and it is intentional grounding if done to avoid the sack. Because the quarterback is not under duress on a spike to stop the clock, it is not intentional grounding. Answeryes i checked it you are right heres why... Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass1. Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.2. Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.3. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line).4. Intentional gounding will not be called when a screen pass is developing and the quarterback throws the ball in the vicinity of the screen receiver.AnswerThe rule says, "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion." When the QB spikes the ball he is not faced with a loss of yardage. The rule was phrased that way specifically so spiking the ball would not be against the rules. Basically, You can only spike the ball INSTANTLY after the ball is snapped. Any later would count as grounding.

User Avatar

The "pocket" is a horseshoe shaped area formed by offensive linemen that drop back and protect the quarterback during a pass play. In theory, if the quarterback remains within the pocket, he will have sufficient time to find a receiver and throw a pass. If defensive players penetrate the pocket before the pass is thrown, the quarterback is either sacked or forced to run out of the pocket...and then he's on his own.

User Avatar

A Pocket in American Football is the safe area created by the offensive linemen create for a quarterback by blocking the defensive rushers. This safe area is supposed to allow the quarterback time to make his reads and throw the ball to a receiver.

User Avatar

A QB-PP is a pocket passer quarterback and then you have QB-DT which means a dual threat quarterback.

User Avatar

When the QB throws the ball away to avoid a sack, there must be a wide reciever in the area or he must be out of the pocket. If not, it is grounding which is a 15 yd penalty and loss of down.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.