Why is there two different baseball leagues of baseball?

The National League was founded in 1876. The American League was founded in 1901. At first, the two leagues were enemies. The American League 'stole' a lot of players from the National League by offering them more money. After two years, the two leagues made a truce and became friends, so to speak. They decided to stay as two separate leagues instead of merging into one.