Runaways

A runaway is any legal minor that has left the care of their guardian without consent.

907 Questions
Runaways

If a 17-year-old girl and 16-year-old boy runaway to Georgia and get married because the girl is pregnant and parental consent is not required can the boy's parents annul the marriage or anything?

yess and they can also charge him with statuary rape even if she consented

252627
Runaways

You'll be seventeem in June 22 and you want to runaway can your parents get the cops on you?

If you live in the United States they can. The age of legal responbsibility is 18. Rather than running away, which usually leads only to bad things, you may want to find someone to talk to if there are issues that need to be dealt with in your home. Yes, I have tried I am 17 going on 18 and they can most definetly get the cops after you, you could go to juvie. I ended up putting myself in shelter because I couldn't run away. So If I was you I would talk to somebody about it or try and wing it until you turn 18. Then you are FREE!!!

252627
Runaways

Can a 17-year-old move out of his parents' home in Oklahoma without being considered a runaway?

The legal age of majority for the state is 18. Such situations are handled in different ways by the authorities depending on the circumstances. When a minor is designated a runaway it means the person's whereabouts are unknown, when the report is filed, the police are required to look for the missing teen in the manner set out by the laws of the state or the police departments method of operation. States that participate in the AMBER Alert program are required to begin looking for the minor immediately. If an underaged person's whereabouts are known, they are designated an "absentee minor" and it generally requires the parents to file a motion with the court to obtain a requisition order and have the minor returned to their custody. The exception would be if the minor is in an unsafe or potentially dangerous environment, in which case authorities can take the minor in custody and place them in a juvenile hearing until a custodial hearing takes place.

242526
Runaways

If you runaway from home what happens?

In addition to the answer below, runaways are exposed to danger from other people. Runaways get robbed, beaten, raped and killed all too often. It is a dangerous world out there.

345
Runaways

Can a 17 year old male runaway in Louisiana and not be forced back home?

Ummm, this is not ethical....IF and ONLY IF the child has been emanicpated

232425
Runaways

What will the police do if your parents report you as a runaway?

Absolutely nothing in Torrington, Ct. They catch you and bring you to the station make sure your ok and release you to your parents. * It depends upon the state and if the minor has a history of leaving home against parental wishes. If the minor has a record of being a runaway or absentee minor, the court consider the minor to be "incorregible" and have them remanded into juvenile custody in a group home or other court supervised facility. In any case an investigation will be done by the state's department of family and children's services to determine the reason for the action and if warranted, request the juvenile court to take the appropriate action.

232425
Runaways

Is there a law that states whether or not a 17-year-old can move out of their parents home and into another stable home if they choose to or would they still be considered a runaway in Washington st?

A 17-year-old is a minor and therefore does not get to choose where they live. Ever heard of the Becca Law? It was passed in WA after a teenage runaway was murdered. It basically gave parents more 'power' in dealing with runaway/disobedient/truant children. You would be considered a runaway and you would be returned home.

222324
Runaways

If a 17-year-old girl and 16-year-old boy runaway to Georgia and legally get married would that make them emancipated or can they be forced to return home or be arrested once they are found?

As a layman I can't say this with authority, but it seems like if you transport someone considered a minor in your state across state lines, that might violate the Mann Act of 1910 which was designed to stop prostitution, but has been liberally used over the years to dictate morality at the federal level. Regardless of that, some states have specific provisions that they will refuse to acknowledge underage or incestuous marriages contracted in one state. It would depend on your state of origin, the willingness of the parents and guardians involved to try to prosecute, the concern of the state authorities of your home state to try to extradite you back to that state, etc. A lot of factors.

If you don't have parental permission, you cannot get a marriage license until you are 18.

212223
Runaways

If you are considered a missing person and not a runaway at age 17 in Texas if your parents don't know where you are could the person you move in with be prosecuted in any way?

If you are reported as a "missing person" and people are assisting you, knowing that your parents do not know where you're at, they can be criminally prosecuted on a number of charges. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor is one, interfering with authorities (if a report has been filed with the police), obstruction of justice, and so on and so on.

212223
Runaways

At what age can you legally move out in Tennessee and what age are you not considered a runaway and the police can't bring you back home?

here hun this is all i could find on your question on this sitehttp://www.jlc.org/home/mediacenter/factsheets/emancipUSA.HTML

what it says is that Tennessee has no emaipation staus...so is that meaning there no right to emancipation in that state im not quit surebut your parent or guarding have rights weather they want to hold u as a run away and have you tooken to juvy.....if you move out your parents have every right to report you as missing and either have u brought home or to the juvinal system.....so that's ill i could find out...hope it helped as much i could

im trying to get im process of emancipation also in Washington statei wish u luck in moving out or find out whats best for you

212223
Runaways

Can a 16-year-old move out of her mother's house in Alabama and move in with her uncle and aunt in Missouri without being considered a runaway?

The age of majority is 19 in alabama, so yes your mother could cause problems especially if she knows where your going. I mean even when your 18 you still wont have reached the age of majority but would anyone prosecute? Highly doubtfull. But at 16 you could end up in a juvenile detention center or something like that.

212223
Runaways

Can parents of runaway press charges against you for harboring a runaway?

Yes. Unless the person is 18 or older. The person harboring a runaway could be charged for something along the lines of interfering with custody of the runaway.

192021
Runaways

Can your child run away in fable 3?

Yes, if you kill/divorce your wife while your child is present or residing in the same home he will return to the orphanage.

192021
Runaways

If you turn 18 years old as a runaway in Georgia and you are forced to return to your parents in Alabama are you a minor again?

Once you are 18 years old, you are considered an adult. You will not revert to a minor in status.

192021
Runaways

Can you bring home 17 year old Michigan across the state lines legally that is being forced to stay with relatives in Kentucky because of different runaway states laws take precedence?

I think that would depend on what your relationship is - are you the parent?

192021
Runaways

If your a runaway and your stay with at your girlfriends house can her parents get in trouble?

YES

192021
Runaways

If your child is 16 and runs away can the parents or the police make her come back home in the state of North Carolina?

The age of majority in NC is 18. But at 16 you can petition for emancipation.

192021
Runaways

If a 16-year-old girl were to run away what could the parents of the runaway do to the family who is housing her?

It depends on the laws of your state. They could potentially be facing charges along the lines of harboring a runaway, contributing to the delinquency of a minor, custodial interference, etc.

181920
Runaways

What happens to a runaway teen if they get caught and what happens to a runaway if they're living with his girlfriend that is 19 and is pregnant and you are only 16 and she is housing you?

If the girl is 19 and the boy runaway is 16, and the female is also pregnant, than the female alone risks possiblity of a state charge OS statuatory rape and also losing her unborn child to a foster home or state facility. The boy will suffer no consequesce, although the state may mandate counseling.

171819
Runaways

Can a 16yr old in Tn runaway and live with another parent in nc?

runaway!if your not happy with the parent your with or simply want to be with the other more why not its your life you got to do whats best for you right? at least that's what i think either way hope your happy!!
171819
Runaways

In Illinois will someone less than 30 days from being 18 be forced home if reported as a runaway?

Technically, you

171819
Runaways

Are parents responsible for a seventeen-year-old runaway in the state of Missouri?

no of course not -.-

171819
Runaways

If your parents refuse to let you move out but you have at the age of sixteen and live with your twenty two year old sister can she be charged for harboring a runaway?

The parents of an non-emancipated minor have the custody and control of such minor. This means that the parents can legally decide where the minor lives until the minor reaches the age of majority (usually 18) or otherwise becomes emancipated. Yes, she could get in some trouble, but because she is related and not involved in criminal activity, it isn't very likely.


If a minor moves away from the home of his or her parents or legal guardians without their permission, that minor can be picked up by authorities as a runaway. Depending upon the state, there may be an evaluation stage in which the situation is reviewed to insure that the individual is not endangered by being returned to the home. Some states have recognized that minors that are 16 or 17 are often considered questionable as to their ability to leave home. Authorities may not want to deal with minors in this age group and some states are establishing legislation enforcing the age of majority and eliminating any questions in the eyes of the law enforcement community.


Check with your local laws for more specifics. If you are in an unsafe environment, law enforcement personnel can put you in contact with the appropriate agencies to obtain help.

161718
Runaways

How can you prove your innocence if you're 19 and your age 16 girlfriend's parents kicked her out then reported her as a runaway and you got in trouble for contributing to the delinquency of a minor?

If the minor was at your place of residence or you knew where she was and failed to report it to authorities there is no defense. The only option would be to claim that you were not aware she was a runaway, however, a court would consider that a very flimsy defense argument. The best option is to obtain legal counsel as soon as possible. Most attorneys offer free or minimal fee consultation. In lieu of that choice you may have to enter a Nolo Contendre plea to receive a reduced sentence agreement. The final dispensation of the matter will depend upon state laws and how aggressively the PA wishes to pursue the case.

161718
Runaways

Can a 14 year old move out of her parents' home without being considered a runaway?

No she can not. As long as you are a minor you will need their consent.

151617

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.