Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2010-08-27 23:18:27

Many Lutherans are not dogmatic about the number of sacraments. A sacrament is a rite, commanded by God Himself, in which He makes Himself especially present. It is taught that Holy Baptism and Holy Communion are sacraments. Often, Confession and Absolution is referred to as the "third sacrament." The other four rites ( confirmation, marriage, holy orders, anointing of the sick) are viewed as sacramental in nature, while not necessarily, or so clearly definable as, sacraments.

Conservative Lutherans hold to a stricter understanding of a two-sacrament system, using the following three part definition: 1) a sacred act which Christ instituted, 2) which uses an earthly element together with God's Word, 3) to offer, give, and seal the forgiveness of sins for the recipient. This view rules out man-made rites and focuses on the free grace of God given through the sacraments of Baptism and Communion. They are not simply ordinances that a Christian must obey, but through them God gives the Holy Spirit to create and strengthen faith.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Martin Luther believed that the only holy sacraments were babtism and the eucharists?

Lutherans are not dogmatic about the number of sacraments. Baptism and Holy Communion are sacraments within the Lutheran Church. Confession and Absolution is also often referred to as a sacrament.

What are the beliefs of the Lutheran religion?

Lutherans believe that there are two sacraments: Eucharist and Baptism. Baptism erases original sin. Lutherans believe in justification by faith.

How many sacraments are there?

there is seven sacraments

What is the gift of Christ's body and blood called?

the seven sacraments

What are sacraments in the Lutheran church?

Sacraments, as lutherans see it, must meet 3 criteria... 1. instituted by Christ 2. forgive sins 3. work to strengthen faith Lutherans have two sacraments the Lord's Supper (Holy Communion) and Baptism. And, the Lutheran symbolical writings refer to Confession and Absolution as "the third sacrament." So, most Lutheran scholars will say, "We have at least two sacraments: Holy Baptism and Holy Communion..." Whether or not Confession and Absolution is included in the list of sacrament has differed according to time and place. Lutherans are not dogmatic about the number of sacraments, but all agree that Baptism and Communion fit the definition.

What sacraments do the Lutheran Church celebrate?

Baptism and communion. However, Lutherans are not dogmatic about the number of sacraments. The Lutheran symbolical writings also refer to Confession and Absolution as "the third sacrament."

What are the seven sacraments of baptism?

There are in all seven sacraments: * Baptism * Eucharist * Reconciliation * Confirmation * Marriage * Holy Orders * Anointing of the Sick out of which Baptism is a sacrament. There are no seven sacraments of Baptism.

Can you show me a summary of the seven sacraments?

Please refer the 'Related Links' section for the summary of seven sacraments in detail.

Do only Catholics celebrate the 7 sacraments?

The Orthodox Church also celebrates the seven sacraments. Some Protestant denominations celebrate some of the sacraments but not all seven.

What are the seven sacraments symbols?

the sacraments smbols are, the dove fire key water ect.

To achieve salvation medieval christians believed that they must?


Do Orthodox Christians practice Seven Sacraments?

Roman Catholic AnswerYes, all Catholics, including the Orthodox, observe all seven Sacraments.

What are the Eastern Catholic Sacraments?

.Catholic AnswerThe Catholic Church has the same seven sacraments the world over.

Are the seven sacrements anything to do with baptism?

Baptism is one of the seven sacraments.

How many sacraments does the church celebrate?

There are seven

What Catholic country had the Seven Sacraments?


What religion practices seven sacraments including baptism and communion?

Roman Catholicism recognizes 7 sacraments.

Do christians follow the seven sacraments?

Catholic & Orthodox follow the 7 Sacraments (though in Catholicism a person may only take at the most, 6 Sacraments). Protestants do not have all 7 Sacraments.

Name the seven sacraments?

Seven Sacraments in the Catholic Church: Baptism Confirmation Penance (reconciliation) Eucharist (communion) Matrimony Holy Orders Anointing of the sick

Why do catholics practice the seven sacraments?

Sacraments are -- visible signs -- of spiritual realities -- instituted by Christ -- which confer grace.

Meanings of the seven sacraments?

It brings you closer to God.

What date did the church instate the seven sacraments?


Why a roman catholic priest can only receive six of seven sacraments?

Because one of the seven sacraments is marriage, which catholic priests are not able to "receive" because of their celibacy vows.

How many sacraments of initiation are there?

There are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Penance, Anointing the sick, Matrimony, Holy Orders and the Eucharist.

What are the 7 sacraments in Spanish?

The seven sacraments are baptism,confirmation,Eucharist,matrimony,Holy orders,penace,and extreme unction

Still have questions?