Can a person with dairy allergy consume medications that contain lactose?
no they can not but it might be slightly possible.
Some milk products do not contain lactose, such as cottage cheese and other types of cheese. Generally, it is thought that it is safe to offer yogurt and cheese, although products that contain lactose are probably safe, if offered in small amounts. Interestingly, live culture yogurt does contain lactose when it is produced; however the live organisms in the yogurt consume the lactose, eventually removing the lactose entirely from the yogurt before it is consumed…
nothing. for lactose intolerance you can take a lactose pill. lactose intolerance is the gut's incapability to deal with milk sugar. this should never be confused with a true and possibly deadly allergy. food allergy reactions can be serious. if you have mild allergy-induced asthma, your doctor might be able to put you on an asthma maintenance medication that would help control the effects of the allergy. Singulair is one that comes in pill form.
Although Silk soy milk does not contain lactose, it does contain sucrose, to give it a sweet, delicious flavor. But many people are sensitive to sugar and can develop excess stomach acidity if they consume it. This is entirely different from the reaction to lactose that a lactose intolerant person has. Some people can't digest lactose. They can digest sucrose, but they may still experience excess stomach acidity, also known as heartburn.
Food allergy and food intolerance are not the same thing. Food allergy means that your immune system attacks the food because it is mistaken for an invading organism. Whereas, food intolerance (typically, lactose intolerance) is a difficulty in digesting that type of food due to insufficient secretiion of digestive enzymes (lactase, in the case of lactose intolerance).
Lactose intolerance. Its not really an allergy but an inability to digest lactose (the main sugar in milk), the undigested lactose is consumed by bacteria in the gut resulting in gas and other unpleasant effects. However one may have actual allergies to ingredients in some ice cream flavors. In actual allergies the immune system attacks a protein or complex carbohydrate in the substance as if it was a disease causing organism. Side effects of this…
Lactose free products are NOT the same as dairy free products. If an acidophilus supplement is called lactose free it means it does not do not contain any milk sugar, but it may contain isolated, lactose-free milk protein - so it would NOT be dairy free. A dairy free probiotic means it does not contain either lactose (milk sugars) or milk proteins.
What happens if someone who is both lactose intolerant and allergic to milk accidentally intakes a drink which contains milk and cream?
Yes, the original Bailey's Irish cream contains about 50% cream from dairy milk. they also have trace amounts of lactose. If you have an allergy specific to lactose and not any other milk constituent, it may be possible for you to drink Bailey's without any adverse side effects. Of course you should always consult your doctor first just to be safe.
All adults have an inability to properly digest milk, but this is seep rate from lactose intolerance, which also is separate from a milk allergy. There is no impact at all, however, if you simply do not drink milk or eat milk based products. Other than a milk allergy, discomfort for a time, and perhaps some vomiting or diarrhea. If it's an allergy, the impact, certainly if anaphylactic, could be death.
No, Snickers would not be considered healthy. The ingredients are: MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), PEANUTS, CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, SALT, EGG WHITES, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR. ALLERGY INFORMATION: CONTAINS PEANUTS, MILK, EGG AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN TREE NUTS. They contain 250 calories and 12 grams of fat.
Actually, not all cheese has lactose. Typically hard aged cheeses, such as cheddar, contain little to no lactose. All Cabot cheeses contain zero (0) grams of lactose. Eating any aged cheese should not affect those with lactose intolerance, regardless of how much is eaten, because lactose - the major carbohydrate of cheese - totally disappears within 3 to 4 weeks after the cheese is made. (first answer: yes yes yes)
There are two causes for people being unable to digest cow's milk: lactose intolerance and milk allergy. Up to 75% of people in the world canâ€™t consume dairy, especially those with Mexican, African, Native American or Asian heritage: when they drink milk, they experience digestive problems or allergic reactions. Lactose intolerance: Some people have a tough time digesting the milk sugar, called lactose, and so they get stomach pains or gas. Milk allergy: Some people…