Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Alabama

Can you move out at the age of 17 with out being a runaway in Alabama?

131415

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2005-09-15 02:56:55
2005-09-15 02:56:55

The age of majority in Alabama is 19. What actions might be taken if the person leaves the parental home before becoming of legal age depends upon the parents or legal guardian; and how strongly the state chooses to enforce the laws pertaining to the issue. Or the minor is in a situation which would cause law enforcement or other such authorities to become involved.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions


No, you are of legal age and can move if you want. If you however just leave and don't tell them they will probably report you as missing.

There is no legal runaway age in any state. At 18, you're an adult and you can leave without being a runaway.

The age of majority, which is 18 in North Carolina. Until then the parents are responsible.

No. The age of majority in Alabama is 19.

Basically anyone up to the age of 17 can be charged with runaway. But if you are 17-18, they can bring you back home, but will not file runaway charges

In Alabama, you must be 19-years-old in order to move out of your parent's home if you are unmarried. This is due to the age of adulthood in Alabama being 19-years-old, according to the Code of Alabama. If you are married or widowed, the age of adulthood in Alabama is 18-years-old.

== == The legal age of majority in Alabama is 19.The age of majority, which is 18 in Alabama. Until then the parents are responsible.

No you can not until you are 18 and then you can move out.

The legal age of majority in Alabama is 19. The exceptions are if the person marries or enlists in the military.

Yes, the age of majority is 18 in Alabama. They can move out and live where they wish.

At 18 you may move out legally, without being called a runaway. And while you can work at the age of 16, it is at 18 that you can enter into contracts - such as a lease for an apartment.

In Alabama they must have reached the age of majority. Otherwise they need to wait until they turn 18. If they are being abused, the court will move them to a foster home.

The age of majority is 19 in alabama, so yes your mother could cause problems especially if she knows where your going. I mean even when your 18 you still wont have reached the age of majority but would anyone prosecute? Highly doubtfull. But at 16 you could end up in a juvenile detention center or something like that.

The age of majority is 19 in Alabama. Until then you are the responsibility of your parents. They determine where you live and much of what you can do.

{| |- | No they cannot. Until they are adults they remain the responsibility of their parents. Being a parent under the age of majority does not change that. One must be at least 18 in Alabama to be considered for emancipation and the age of majority is 19. |}

The age of majority in Pennsylvania is 18. That is the age at which you can legally move out on your own. If you try to move out before that age, or run away, you can be reported as a runaway and forced to return home.

Having a child does not change the requirements. You have to be 18 to move out.

Yes, if your parents file a report that you are a runaway or delinquent absent minor. Or if you get into some type of trouble that would involve the intervention of the authorities. The age of majority in Alabama is 19.

You have to reach the age of majority. In Alabama, that means you have to be at least 19 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.

Being a runaway is a "status offense," one that is in place because the offender is under the age of self-governance. On turning 18, the runaway would no longer be a runaway, and could not be arrested for such.

You have to reach the age of majority. In Alabama, that means you have to be at least 19 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.

You have to reach the age of majority. In Alabama, that means you have to be at least 19 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.