Does a 16-year-old need parental consent to drop out of high school in Florida?
Florida Statute 1003.21(1)(c) requires that, once a child reaches the age of 16, that child may file a formal declaration of intent to terminate school enrollment with the district school board. The declaration must be signed by the child and the child�s parent or legal guardian. Here is the entire statute: (c) A student who attains the age of 16 years during the school year is not subject to compulsory school attendance beyond the date upon which he or she attains that age if the student files a formal declaration of intent to terminate school enrollment with the district school board. Public school students who have attained the age of 16 years and who have not graduated are subject to compulsory school attendance until the formal declaration of intent is filed with the district school board. The declaration must acknowledge that terminating school enrollment is likely to reduce the student's earning potential and must be signed by the student and the student's parent. The school district must notify the student's parent of receipt of the student's declaration of intent to terminate school enrollment. The student's guidance counselor or other school personnel must conduct an exit interview with the student to determine the reasons for the student's decision to terminate school enrollment and actions that could be taken to keep the student in school. The student must be informed of opportunities to continue his or her education in a different environment, including, but not limited to, adult education and GED test preparation. Additionally, the student must complete a survey in a format prescribed by the Department of Education to provide data on student reasons for terminating enrollment and actions taken by schools to keep students enrolled. It is my understanding that...The declaration must be "acknowledged" by the parents, but it doesn't say they must approved of the students decision. My next thought is... what happens when the parents don't sign it?