answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

I am a repossession agent in Virginia it takes 2-3 months of not paying before the repossession status occurs.

AnswerI am a repossession agent in Virginia it takes 1 missed payment then repossession status occurs.
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 00:19:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: How late can a vehicle payment be in Virginia before repossession?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

How long before they can repossess you car in Virginia?

The lender can legally take the vehicle one day after the payment is due. That is, on the day the payment is late, the lender can begin repossession efforts. The day the payment is late, the contract is void.


How many payment do you have to be behind before they can repossess in the state of MN?

It depends on the terms of the contract. Legally if you miss 1 payment you are delinquent and they can start repossession proceedings on their vehicle.


How far behind in my car payments can I be, before I have to worry about repossession?

You can start to worry about repossession of your vehicle as soon as you miss your payment. Depending on the loan amount and the type of vehicle you have you may have up to 30 days from your last missed payment to risk loosing your vehicle. If you keep in touch with the lender of your car, you have a better chance of not loosing your vehicle right away.


Do you have a right to have a repossession letter before my vehicle is repossessed?

no


What are the repossession laws concerning a title loan company and are they able torepossess a vehicle 2 weeks BEFORE the first payment is due?

The repossession laws will vary with each city/state. A title loan company can't repo a car if the payment is not yet due unless the car is behind on payments.


Is it legal to reposes a car 8 days before the payment is due and five days after purchasing the vehicle?

That sounds odd, repossession is usually done when you've missed payments.


Repossession law in California?

Under California law, a creditor can repossess the vehicle if it is in default without notice, even if the car payment is one day late. However, if there is a co-borrower on the loan, the creditor is required to give notice before repossession.


How many payments can you miss before your car will be repossessed?

Legally if you miss 1 payment you are delinquent and they can start repossession proceedings on their vehicle. Remember it is not your car until you pay for it. It belongs to the lender.


Can you sue for wrongful repossession of a vehicle when loan was paid in full over a month and a half ago?

Yes, if you have proof that your lender received your payment before your vehicle was repossessed. If you have this proof, you can sue them and get your car back and not be charged for any fees.


How long before a vehicle can be repossessed?

This will usually be stated in the contract you sign when financing the vehicle. Some places, especially the "Bad Credit/No Credit" lots will attempt to repossess in as little as one day after payment is due. I don't see any financier letting it go for longer than 4 months with no payment be for they file for repossession.


Is it true repo agents must verify VIN before taking the vehicle?

Yes, it is true that repossession agents must verify VINs before taking a vehicle. They have to be certain that they have the correct vehicle.


In Texas how many months before repossession?

No months. It will be more like weeks or days. In practice, you can be one day past due and the lender can send your vehicle for repossession. It might be months before the actual repossession happens; it will depend on how difficult it is for the agency to secure it.


What are my rights if a commercial vehicle is illegally repossessed?

Well, first, you'd have to explain how the repossession was illegal. There really isn't any such thing as "illegal repossession"... repossession is a legal process by which a lien holder can recovery property which does belong to them in response to a delinquency of payment or violation of the contract.A vehicle which has no grounds for repossession but was taken was not repossessed - that's theft, plain and simple, and if that's the case, then you'd file a police report, an investigation would commence, arrests would be made, and you'd either recover your vehicle or get an insurance payment if the vehicle was unrecoverable. I'm guessing that's not the case, since you're asking this question here.State laws on time which a delinquency must continue for before seizure of assets can be made varies by state... if this law was violated, then you're going to have to lawyer up and take the legal route against the lienholder (the repossessor is not liable in this instance, as they are contractors following the instructions of the lien holder).A criminal act on the part of the repossession agency has occurred if...A locked gate is breached in the course of the repossession.A secured building is unlawfully entered in the course of the repossession.A vehicle other than the one being repossessed was entered without permission during the course of the repossessionProperty damage occurs during the course of the repossession.In the case of a commercial vehicle, a cargo payload is taken with the vehicle.A trailer attached to the repossessed vehicle which itself is not up for repossession is taken with the vehicle.In those instances, a police report needs to be filed. However, if the repossession itself is legit, that still won't get you the vehicle back.


I made a agreement of payment by this Friday can they still repo me?

Yes, as long as an active repossession order exists, the vehicle will eventually be recovered. If it is seen in towing position by a recovery agent, he will take it. Keep in mind that many repossession agencies have spotters who do nothing but stake-out wanted units, or look for them in public locations where recovery agents may secure them. Any attempt to hide the vehicle or prevent the recovery could be prosecuted. Repossession is a time game, an inevitability. Hundreds of thousands of vehicles are repossessed in the US every year. Less than 1% of 1% of the vehicles up for repossession are successfully hidden for any significant time. And, some states are passing laws that will prevent parties who have active repossession orders against vehicles registered to them from registering any vehicles in that state. If you have active arrangements with the lender, hope your payment reaches them before the recovery agent is able to secure the vehicle in question. Be certain to contact the lender and get their assurance that repossession activites have been cancelled once the payment is received. Your best course of action is to take the payment to the lender, and while there have them call the repossession agency who has the active order and witness them cancelling the order.


What are your options if you owe 5K on a vehicle but have over 10K in custom paint and extras invested and now only have a few days to present full payment before repossession?

Your option is to make the payment or have the car repossessed. If you had 10K to put into a vehicle that carries you from point A to point B, maybe you should have put some of it away for actual car payments.


What do you do if a repossession company damages your property while seizing the vehicle?

You need very good proof it was not damaged before the repossession. Nearly impossible to do as he can say it was damaged when he got it (and he will, believe me).


Do Alabama repo companies have to notify you before repossessing your vehicle?

The state of Alabama is a self help repossession state, therefore a repossession agency is not required to notify you before they repossess your vehicle. Repossessors are under various state and federal laws and regulations and are prevented from breaching the peace among other things.


What can you do about a repossession if you only owed 717 dollars and you were never contacted about the repossession?

Pay the money. You don't have to be contacted about the repossession; you are aware of the terms of your loan in your contract. If you're behind, pay what you owe so you can get the vehicle back. * The amount owed is not relevant. The following states require "right to cure" notification before repossession action can be taken: Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachuetts, Missouri, South Carolina and West Virginia and Wisconsin (replevin order required).


Can you object to a repossession before car is taken?

Yes, and many people do object to their vehicles being repossessed, before and after the repossession. Unfortunately, your objection will have little effect. If you are delinquent or in default on your loan, and the vehicle was used to secure the loan, the vehicle will be repossessed. There are few legal options available to you to avoid this aside from paying the loan current.


How many times can you be late for a car payment before it is reposessed?

Answering "How many times can you be late for a car payment before it is reposessed?" by law they can repossess your car when your 1 day late- there is no law against that! However, your best option, would be to contact CAR HELP USA. They stop repossession, get your payments up to date, lower interest rates, lower your monthly auto bill, help with repossession, and so on. They helped me get a car back from repossession in the past! Do something before the problem just gets worse.


How many months can you go without paying your car payment before repossessed?

It depends on the lender. Prime lenders like Cap One may come after you vehicle after the first payment is missed. Chase might take two weeks from the missed payment. Other lenders may wait 30, 60, 90, or even 120 days before issuing a notice of repossession.


Can a creditor get a warrant for vehicle repossession?

The creditor can obtain a replevin order from the court if it becomes necessary. Wisconsin is the only state which requires a replevin order to be in place before a vehicle can be recovered. All other states allow repossession under the UCC laws, although some do require the borrower to be notified and given a specified time to bring the account current before the vehicle can be seized..


How much time do you have before your car is repossessed?

Depends on the contract you signed and the state that you live in. Some states require a 15 or 20 day Right to Cure letter be sent to the debtor prior to repossession and some states allow the vehicle to be repossessed the day after you miss your payment.


If your vehicle is repossessed is it stored first until you catch up on your payments or is it sold Are the dealers suppose to notify you with a letter of repossession Is this required in Arizona?

Ok, for the first part of your question: In the State of Arizona, lienholders are required to give a 10 day right to cure. In other words, they have to wait for 10 days before they can sell the vehicle. As for the 2nd part of your question, in Arizona, they advise you in your finance agreement/contract that you sign that repossession is a cure for non or late payment. It is not their responsibility to babysit you. If your payment is due the 14th of every month, get the payment in the lien holder's hands by the 13th or call them and make arrangements if it is going to be late. The bank lendeth and the repoman taketh away.


Do repossession agents take a picture of the car before they try to take possession of it?

That is a decision made by the lender, and some do have photographs taken before the car is seized, but it is not a legal requirement. The repossession agent/agency does not assume responsibility for any damage to a vehicle that happens while it is being recovered.