Best Answer

They all did.

But the Western counties of Virginia formed a separate state and seceded from Virginia - a new Union state called West Virginia.

So Virginia itself was a smaller version of what it had been.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many states stayed with the confederacy?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which had control of the greater number of the states the confederate states or the US?

Union. (19-15)the Norththe union statesThe UnionThere were more loyal states than Confederate states. Eleven states joined the confederacy with 23 loyal states. United States territories also stayed loyal. There were four slave states (Maryland, Kentucky, Delaware and Missouri) which stayed loyal and West Virginia seceded from Virginia to stay in the Union.

How many states were part of the confederacy in 1865?

11 states were part of the confederacy in 1865 .

How many states belonged to the union?

During the Civil War, the United States was divided into the Union and the Confederacy. Twenty states belonged to the Union, and there were also four border states that did not secede from the United States, but also did not give up slavery. The Confederacy had eleven states.

How many states in all was in the confederacy?


Why did Lincoln only free the slaves in the states of the confederacy instead of all slaves?

Because he was anxious not to upset powerful slave-owners in the border-states and drive them into the arms of the Confederacy.

How many confedrate states?

There were seven states in the Confederacy. The states in the Confederacy included South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas.

How many states formed the south confederacy?


How many southern states formed the confederacy?


States located between the union and the confederacy?

All of the states at that time either stayed in the Union or joined the Confederacy. Geographically. Geographically, there were no states in between the two nations. The Border States is the term given to the slave states that chose to stay in the Union. They included Kentucky, Delaware, Maryland, Missouri and West Virginia. (West Virginia succeeded from Virginia after Virginia succeeded from the Union in order to avoid fighting for the Confederacy.) They were all near the border of the Confederacy. They knew that whichever side they chose, there would likely be fighting on their territory.

Which slaveholding states did the Emancipation Proclamation apply to?

The states in rebellion - in other words, the Confederate states.

How can you use the word confederacy in a sentence?

The Confederacy lost the United States Civil War.The states formed a confederacy. We joined the confederacy.

How many slave states did not join the confederacy after 1816?