answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only a few states provide the grounds and procedures for the emancipation of minors, the minimum age in all such states is sixteen.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-10-17 01:14:52
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How old does the child have to be to get emancipated?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a 15 year old be emancipated in Iowa?

No a 15 year old can not be emancipated in Iowa. A child must be 16 years old in order to be emancipated in Iowa.


Can a emancipated 17 year old female marry a 20 year old in the state of Louisiana?

Yes, if the 17 year old is emancipated then they are considered an adult. They can make their own decisions and get married if they want. Parents can not stop an emancipated child from doing anything, the court considered an emancipated child to be 18 years old.


How old does a child have to be before they can be emancipated?

Depends on your state's laws.


Is a married 16 year old with child emancipated in Virginia?

Yes, you are emancipated through the marriage. Not through the pregnancy.


Can a 16 year old get emancipated in ny and still receive child support?

No. In NYC a parent has to support a child until the child is 21 years old or becomes emancipated. Emancipation means a child is living separately and independently from a parent, or is self-supporting.


Can i apply for child support if my child is 18 years old?

No. The child is not a child anymore but emancipated so there is no need for child support.


Can a child be emancipated in Ohio if she is 19 years old and has a child. the child is 18 months old?

There is no need for emancipation. She is 18 or older a LEGAL ADULT.


Can a child be emancipated at 15 years old in Louisiana?

see link


Is an 18 year old with a child considered emancipated in Utah and when can the father stop paying child support?

Yes she is emancipated by turning 18 and child support is paid until she is 21 if she goes to college.


Can a child be 20 years old going to collage living with a parent and not be emancipated?

You became emancipated naturally when you turned 18 so no.


Can a 17 yr old move out of their parents home if they have a child?

With parental consent. You are not emancipated because you have a child.


Can an 18-year old get emancipated in Alabama?

Yes, in some cases, a 18 year old can get emancipated in Alabama. As of June 2014, a person is considered a child until they are 19 years old.


Is a 16 yr old considered emancipated once she has her own child in Georgia?

No she is not.


Can a 17 year old female be emancipated if she has a child?

No, you are not emancipated automatically when you have a child. It does not mean one has the ability to take care of yourself. You do have certain rights as to obtaining assistance for you and your child, but you are still the responsibility of your parents until you turn 18.


Are you emancipated if you have a child in florida?

No you don't automatically get emancipated because you are pregnant or have a child in any state.


Does an eighteen year old child have to abide by the visitation agreement under FL child custody law?

No, by 18 you are emancipated and not a child anymore.


Can you kick your 16 year old out?

In the US: No, you are obligated to care for your minor child until they are emancipated and this would be child abandonment.


Are parents obligated to provide child support for a 16 year old not living at home?

Yes, unless the child is emancipated.


What happens with child support if a child says he is emancipated?

If you're in the US... A child saying he is emancipated means nothing (I can say I'm God, but that doesn't mean I am :). If the child actually is legally emancipated, then child support ceases.


Can you get emancipated from your 14 yr old in cali?

Getting emancipated at 14 years old is possible, but it is not easy. It's something that a child would have to be approved in order to do, and getting approved can be very difficult.


How old do you have to be in Tennessee to get emancipated?

how can i get emancipated?


How do you get your child emancipated?

your child has to emancipate their self


Your divorce states that child support will be paid until the child reaches the age of 18 or is otherwise emancipated what does this mean?

There are times when a child prefers to be on their own and asks to be emancipated. When a child is legally emancipated, you are finally free from a support obligation.


Do you pay child maintenance if seventeen years old works?

Yes! A child is not obligated to support themsleves finacially until they are emancipated.


Can the parents kick out there 16 year old in the state of OR?

No, you are obligated to care for your minor child until they are emancipated and this would be child abandonment.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide