answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

As long as you remarried in another state it is legal. The Oklahoma divorce law states that you may not remarry for six months, IN THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA. Plenty of people, primarily military, remarry the same week in other states. Unless that state has a law preventing you from remarrying until a certain amount of time has elapsed after a divorce, the marriage is legal. REMARRIAGE AFTER DIVORCE: It shall be unlawful for either party to an action for divorce whose former husband or wife is living to marry in this state a person other than the divorced spouse within six (6) months from date of decree of divorce granted in this state. [Based on Oklahoma Statutes; Title 43, Section 123]

2008-06-11 16:44:22
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: If your divorce in Oklahoma required a six-month waiting period and you remarried two months later is the second marriage legal?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Can you get remarried before your divorce is final?

You are not able to get remarried before your divorce is final. If you do remarry before that, then your marriage will not be legal.


How do you spell remarriaged?

The term is "remarried" (marriage is a noun, not a verb).


Is there a required waiting period after divorce to remarry in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma statutes, while prohibiting a marriage of either party to a divorce for 6 months after the rendition of the decree, does not declare such marriage invalid. Any marriage contracted in Oklahoma within 6 months after a divorce decree was granted is valid unless set aside. A marriage entered into outside of Oklahoma within the 6-month period would be held to be voidable by the courts of Oklahoma and valid by the courts of other States as the prohibition has no extraterritorial effect. Yes the period is one year.


What happens if your marriage was never registered?

If your marriage was never registered, then your marriage is not legal in the eyes of the court. You need to get remarried right away if you choose.


Did Rosa Parks get remarried?

After her first marriage to Raymond Parks ended following his death in 1977, she never remarried. She was only married once.


If father remarried has children from second marriage and adult children from previous marriage are all his children entitled to inherit under Oklahoma law?

Yes. All the children would be considered heirs at law under the laws of intestacy. See related question link provided below.


Can a divorced woman be Catholic?

If she is divorced but not remarried, she can be a Catholic. If she has remarried she will need to seek an annulment of the first marriage before she can fully participate in the Catholic Church. .


When will same-sex marriage be legal in Oklahoma?

Same-sex marriage became legal in Oklahoma on October 6, 2014.


Is same-sex marriage legal in Oklahoma?

Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Oklahoma beginning October 6, 2014.


Am I still related to stepchild from previous marriage if her mother died and I have remarried?

You no longer have a legal relationship to a step-child from a previous marriage.


What is the effects of an early marriage?

Becoming a parent earlier, getting divorced and remarried more.


What is the difference between a civil union and marriage in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma does not recognize civil unions.


How long after a divorce in oklahoma do you have to wait to get remarried?

I didn't know you even had to get divorced first. Or is that just in Arkansas?


Are you required to present identification when voting in an election in Oklahoma?

The voter is not required to present identification when voting in an election in Oklahoma.


Does the state democratic party platform for Oklahoma include marriage equality?

Yes, the state democratic party platform for Oklahoma does include marriage equality.


Can a divorced Catholic receive holy communion if not remarried in the Catholic church?

Yes they can if not remarried in the church or outside of the church. In order to remarry an annulment is required.


Did Dr.. Seuss have a wife?

Yes. His first marriage ended in his wife's death, and he remarried.


Can a woman who is legally separated from a previous marriage but not yet legally divorced get remarried?

no it is against the law.


Has a marriage equality bill ever been introduced in either house of the state legislature in Oklahoma?

No. A marriage equality bill has never been introduced in the Oklahoma legislature.


Can you get a marriage license in Arkansas and get married in Oklahoma?

No. The marriage license can be used only in the State of Arkansas and the marriage ceremony can only take place in the State of Arkansas. If you want to get married in Oklahoma, you must get your marriage license in Oklahoma, from a county court clerk. You do not have to be a former or current resident of Oklahoma to obtain a marriage license there. There is no waiting period from the application date until the license is issued and you will receive your license immediately. If under age 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period.


How long must a divorced person wait to remarry in the state of Florida?

There is NO waiting period after a divorce to get remarried in Florida. However, Florida residents are required to have taken a premarital course within 12 months of applying for a marriage license or wait three days for the marriage license to become effective.


What do i do if i remarried and just found out i wasn't divorced from my first marriage yet?

Your second marriage is not legal and you could get in trouble for bigamy. Talk to an attorney about how to proceed from here.


What are some major obstacles to the legalization of same-sex marriage in Oklahoma?

As of October 6, 2014, there are no longer any obstacles to the legalization of same-sex marriage in Oklahoma.


Can you get a marriage license and get married the same day in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma there is no waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under age 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period. The license must be used within 10 days of issuance.


Marriage age in Indiana?

what is age required for marriage in India