Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

In California can the parents of a 16-year-old girl press charges against her 19-year-old boyfriend if the parents originally consented to the relationship?

User Avatar
Wiki User
February 01, 2007 10:51AM

Yes. The age of consent is 18 in California, and parents cannot 'consent' to breaking the law. It is actually considered child abuse or the parents could even be charged for a crime in allowing it to happen.