We need you to answer this question!
If you know the answer to this question, please register to join our limited beta program and start the conversation right now!
1 tablet of rennet is how much liquid rennet?
One teaspoon of liquid rennet is reported to be equivalent to one Junket Rennet tablet. Thus, you would use one teaspoon to coagulate five gallons of inoculated milk, or 4 drops/gallon of inoculated milk. (I have only used tablet rennet, but am assured that liquid rennet works just as well as the tablets.) Liquid rennet can be ordered from various cheese maker's suppliers or which New England Cheese Making Supplies is prominent on the web. I have had a number of cheese...
What is brand name of rennet tables for chees?
There are a lot of brands of rennet tablets. For example, Marschall M-50 is a vegetable based rennet that comes in tablet form. You can also find liquid vegetable rennet one is an in house brand from Cheesesupply.com. The same company also supplies a liquid animal rennet. Another name brand is Junket rennet which can be found at AmericanSpice.com, Amazon.com and a host of other sites around the web and more than possibly in your own town. Junket has been around for a...
Asked in Cheeses
Why are some types of cheese not vegetarian?
Some processes for making cheese use rennet. Rennet are the enzymes found in mammalian stomach's for digesting a mothers milk. The rennet separates the milk into solid and liquid. Cheeses using rennet are not suitable for vegetarians. However, vegetarian cheeses do not use rennet, but a rennet substitute. ...
What is cow's rennet?
Rennet is curdled milk found in the stomach of an unweaned calf. Rennet is used in curdling milk for cheese, junket, etc. Rennet is also a preparation made from the stomach membrane of a calf or from certain fungi which is used for the same purpose describe previously. ...
What is meant by Liquid Rennet?
Rennet is an enzyme that is made by baby calves to digest milk. It acts by cleaving off the tails of Kappa Casein that surround the casein micelle, which allows the casein micelles to get closer to each other, thus causing them to bond together and precipitate. Rennet can be made by either harvesting out of the stomachs of the boy calves, that the farmer does not want and so sends to the freezing works. It can also be made synthetically...
Asked in Rennet
What is non-animal rennet?
Rennet is substance containing rennin, an enzyme having the property of clotting, or curdling, milk. It is used in the making of cheese and junket. Animal Rennet is obtained from the fourth, or true, stomach (abomasum) of milk-fed calves. The preparation of rennet was formerly a part of the domestic function of making cheese; the inner membrane was kept in salt, dried, and, when rennet was needed, soaked in water. Now extract of rennet is made and sold commercially. It is usually prepared by...