Asked in

What are the building blocks of the macromolecules?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 09, 2011 7:08AM

They are called monomeric sub-units.


Macromolecules of a living organism are usually divided into four categories:

1. Lipids (or fats)

2. Proteins

3. Carbohydrates

4. Nucleic acids

There are two basic building blocks to every glyceride molecule:

at least two fatty acid chains and a glycerol molecule.

For proteins, the basic subunits are amino acids ([carbon] peptide chains with an amino group attached).

For carbohydrates (things like sugars and starch and alcohols), long chains of carbon monomers form the basic structure. Functional groups like the hydroxyl group or the carbonyl group are frequently attached to the polymer chain. All sugars must have at least one carbonyl group, for example.

Nucleic acids are built with nucleotides, an essential molecule in the DNA helix.

I think what the question was asking about was actual, practical macromolecules. Such as fatty acids/lipids = FATS, carbohydrates = SUGARS, amino acids = PROTEINS, nucleic acids = DNA, RNA. Those in CAPS are the real macromolecules. Some of your macromolecules are still the base units.